
  

 
Special Review 
April  2003 Report No. 03-29 

Non-Residents Qualify Too Easily for 
Much Lower Resident Tuition Rates 
at a glance 
Florida subsidizes approximately 75% of tuition and 
fees of students classified as residents, while non-
resident students pay higher tuition that covers the 
cost of their education.  Florida law provides that 
students are residents only if they or their parents 
have lived in the state for at least 12 months prior to 
their qualification as a resident.   
However, current residency classification criteria 
and procedures are unclear and inconsistently 
applied, jeopardizing the accuracy of residency 
determinations.  In particular, current law and rules 
do not provide adequate guidance for determining 
when students who initially enroll as non-Florida 
residents will become eligible for lower in-state 
tuition, and how student dependency status should 
be determined.  There is a common misperception 
that out-of-state students automatically qualify for 
lower in-state tuition after attending school for a 
year.   
If Florida eliminated the reclassification of non-
resident students, institutions could receive $28.2 
million in additional annual tuition revenue from non-
residents if these individuals remained enrolled at a 
Florida public postsecondary institution.  

Scope __________________ 

This report examines the processes used by 
Florida’s universities and community colleges to 

classify students for residency for tuition 
purposes.  Pursuant to ss. 11.513 and 11.45, 
Florida Statutes, the Director of the Office of 
Program Policy Analysis and Government 
Accountability initiated this project in response 
to a legislative request to review the process 
used by Florida’s public universities and 
community colleges to determine whether 
students qualify for in-state tuition rates.  

Background _____________  

Students who attend Florida’s public universities 
and community colleges must pay tuition and 
fees that defray part of the state’s costs of 
providing this service.  Florida’s tuition policy, as 
established by the Legislature, is intended to 
benefit students who are Florida residents or 
have significant legal or family ties to Florida.  
Florida residents pay in-state tuition rates that 
cover approximately 25% of the cost of 
education, with state appropriations subsidizing 
the other 75%.  In contrast, non-resident 
students must pay higher tuition that covers the 
cost of their education.  As shown in Exhibit 1, a 
resident undergraduate student taking 30 credit 
hours in two semesters would pay $1,576 in 
tuition at community colleges and $2,691 for 
tuition at universities in Fiscal Year 2002-03, 
compared to $5,806 and $12,029 by non-
residents.   
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Exhibit 1 
Non-Residents Pay Higher Annual Tuition  
at Florida Postsecondary Institutions 
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Source:  Department of Education 2002-03 data, based on 
undergraduate students taking 30 credit hours during the year. 

The average state subsidy (based on Fiscal Year 
2002-03 tuition rates) per resident student 
completing an associate degree is $8,461 over the 
course of the degree and $37,352 for a bachelor’s 
degree.  These differences in resident and non-
resident student tuition reflect the state’s 
objective to support the education of Florida 
students rather than that of out-of-state 
students.   

Student tuition and fees contribute significant 
resources to institutions’ funding.  The 
Community College System’s 2002-03 funding 
totals nearly $1.3 billion, with 30% ($392 million) 
coming from student tuition and fees.  The State 
University System’s 2001-02 funding totaled $6 
billion, with 9% ($533,989,142) paid from student 
tuition and fees.   

Residency criteria 
To be eligible for in-state tuition rates, students 
or their parents or legal guardians must meet the 
residency qualifications delineated by Florida 

law, rules in the Florida Administrative Code, 
and the Florida Post-secondary Residency 
Guidelines, referenced in rule (see Exhibit 2).  
The law provides basic definitions for residency 
eligibility and identifies special categories for 
students who are eligible for in-state tuition 
rates.  

In general, students qualify for in-state residency 
if they or their parents have lived in Florida for 
at least 12 months prior to the student’s 
qualification as resident by a public institution.  
In addition, the law provides for several special 
categories of eligibility that exempt certain 
students from the 12-month requirement.  For 
example, students may qualify for in-state 
residency if they, their parents, or their spouses 
are on active military duty in Florida, are an 
employee of a public school, university, or 
community college, or are participating in a 
designated scholarship or academic exchange 
program.  See Exhibit 2 for additional examples. 

Rules and residency guidelines further define 
residency criteria and provide guidance as to 
how these criteria should be applied.  The 
guidelines differentiate between two types of 
applicants–those who are clearly Florida 
residents and those with documentation that is 
inconsistent with Florida residency.  For 
example, students with a Florida mailing and 
emergency address, who graduated from a 
Florida high school, and show postsecondary 
transcripts from Florida are considered clearly to 
be Florida residents and are not required to 
submit additional evidence of residence in the 
state.  Administrators commonly term 
applications meeting these criteria “all Florida”.  
The guidelines advise institutions to obtain 
additional documentation for non-“all Florida” 
applicants who request residency status.  Rules 
also state that institutions may enter into 
agreements with bordering states to grant in-
state residency to students who live in close 
proximity to the institution (such as bordering 
counties).   

 

2 



 Special Review 

Exhibit 2 
Florida Residency Criteria Are Established at Three Levels 

1   Florida Statutes, Ch. 1009.21, 1009.98 
    Sets basic requirements for establishing residency.  In general, students, their parents, legal guardians or spouses 

must have resided in Florida for at least 12 months prior to qualification to qualify for in-state residency. 
 Defines a “dependent child” as one who can be claimed by a parent on a federal income tax form 
 Creates exemptions to the 12-month residency requirement 

    Exemptions listed in law include:  
 Active military duty in Florida or a member of the Florida National Guard 
 Employment in a public school, community college, or university in Florida 
 Previous attendance at the Florida State University’s Panama Canal Branch 
 Participation in a designated scholarship or academic exchange program 
 Recipient of Florida Pre-Paid College Program are classified as Florida residents for tuition purposes 

(Ch. 1009.98, Florida Statutes) 

     
2  Florida Administrative Code  (Rules 6A-10.044, 6C-7.001, and 6C-7.005) 
  (set by the Florida Board of Education to further define residency criteria) 

   Clarifies eligibility for classification as a Florida resident [(6C-7.005(2)].  Students who are permanent residents and resident 
aliens may qualify for in-state tuition if they have lived in Florida for at least 12 months prior to qualification. 

 Lists eligibility for non-US citizens based on proof of permanent immigration status or special non-immigrant visas accorded 
by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (permanent residents and resident aliens, or students holding one of 14 
types of visas and 11 other special categories) [(6A-10.044(4) and (5)] 
 Permits local institutions to establish border agreements (6C-7.001).  The University of West Florida has a current border 

agreement with 17 Alabama counties within 50 miles of Florida border.  The University of North Florida has a border 
agreement with the Naval Submarine Base in Kings Bay, Georgia. 

 Does not require institutions to re-evaluate classification decisions of other public in-state institutions  
[(6A-10.044(1) and Ch. 1009.24(4),Florida Statutes ] 

 Limits total systemwide enrollment of non-resident students in state universities to 10% (6C-7.006) 

    
3 Florida Postsecondary Residency Guidelines 
 (Incorporated by reference in rule and applicable for public community colleges and universities; set by the Residency Committee and 

adopted by the Articulation Coordinating Committee)1  

  Specifies the documentation necessary to prove Florida residency; gives examples of inconsistencies with Florida residency; explains 
basic provisions in law and eligibility for non-US citizens 

 Emphasizes that no single document shall be conclusive (institutions should rely on a preponderance of evidence) 
 Provides that documents should be dated at least 12 months before the first day of classes of the term for which residency is sought 

  Specifies documents that may be accepted as proof of meeting the 12-month residency requirement, which include: 
Declaration of Domicile                                Florida Vehicle Registration 
Voter Registration                                        Permanent employment Florida 
Florida Driver license  
 

1 The Residency Committee is composed of members of the public universities and community colleges, including administrative 
employees of the institutions and attorneys. It meets bi-annually to discuss changes and issues in residency criteria and to update the 
guidelines according to changes in the law and immigration policies. 
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Findings _________________ 
Residency criteria are unclear and 
inconsistently applied, jeopardizing the 
accuracy of residency determinations 
Although Florida law and rules are intended to 
enable universities and community colleges to 
accurately and consistently classify students for 
in-state and out-of-state residency, this process is 
substantially flawed.  In practice, institutions are 
using inconsistent screening criteria and 
procedures, resulting in a substantial potential 
for misclassifications and varying thresholds that 
students must meet in order to qualify for 
residency.  There are three costly weaknesses in 
the current criteria and procedures for 
classifying students for tuition residency.  

 Current law and rules do not provide 
adequate criteria governing under what 
specific circumstances students should be 
reclassified as Florida residents. 

 Current criteria do not adequately specify 
the determination of students’ dependency 
status.  

 Institutions are applying varying standards 
for documenting residency. 

We estimate that institutions could receive an 
additional $28.2 million in tuition revenues from 
out of state students if reclassifications were 
eliminated and these individuals remained 
enrolled. 

Current residency criteria provide insufficient 
guidance for reclassifying non-resident 
students 
To assure that only Florida residents receive in-
state tuition, Florida law requires students to 
have at least 12 months residence in the state 
prior to qualification for residency.  There is a 
common misperception that out-of-state 
students automatically qualify for lower in-state 
tuition after attending school for a year.  
However, the law requires that the student’s (or 
parent if student is dependent) residence must 
be for the purpose of maintaining a permanent 

home, rather than just maintaining a mere 
temporary residence incident to enrollment.  
Thus, students who move to Florida to attend a 
postsecondary institution are not eligible for in-
state residency because they moved to the state 
to attend college rather than coming with the 
intent of making it their home.  The residency 
guidelines expand on the law by stating that 
students who initially come to Florida to enroll 
in an institution will not normally meet 
requirements for in-state tuition, regardless of 
the length of time enrolled.   

However, the law, rules, or guidelines are 
unclear as to whether students can gain in-state 
residency if they claim that they moved to 
Florida for reasons other than to just attend 
school.  As a result, institutions face a complex 
challenge of determining a student’s intent for 
moving to Florida.  Determining student intent 
usually becomes an issue when students attempt 
to have their residency status changed from 
non-resident to resident.  The guidelines, law, 
and rule provide little other guidance to 
institutions on judging student intent except for 
listing a variety of documents they may consider 
when determining residency. 1  The documents 
most commonly used to judge student intent are 
driver licenses, and vehicle or voter registrations.  
The guidelines also state no single document 
shall be conclusive.   

Although law and rules indicate students should 
generally not be reclassified, approximately 
25% are reclassified as residents resulting in an 
estimated loss of $28.2 million in tuition 
revenue.  The lack of clear criteria for judging 
student intent is of concern because universities 
and community colleges often reclassify non-
resident students as residents once they have 
resided in Florida for 12 months.  Specifically, 
between 1998-99 and 2000-01, 28% of students in 

                                                 
1 Documents suggested in the guidelines include proof of purchase 

of permanent primary Florida home or homestead exemption; 
purchase of Florida real property; full-time or part-time, non-
temporary employment in Florida; proof of acceptance of 
permanent employment in Florida; professional/occupational 
license in Florida; membership in Florida organizations; Florida 
incorporation; family ties in Florida; Florida declaration of 
domicile, vehicle or voter registration, or driver license; absence 
of establishing legal residence elsewhere; transcripts from Florida 
schools for multiple years. 
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the community college system and 
approximately a quarter of students in the 
university system who were originally classified 
as non-residents in 1998-99 were reclassified as 
residents.  In particular, of those students who 
were reclassified as residents, 72% in the 
community college system and 60% in the 
university system were reclassified after the 
third semester of enrollment, demonstrating that 
institutions tended to reclassify students as 
residents after they had lived in the state for 12 
months. 

As a result of this reclassification we project a 
loss of annual tuition revenue of $28.2 million 
due to the reclassification of students who 
enrolled in academic year 2000-01, for both 
education systems (see Exhibit 3). 2  This 
projection is based on reclassification patterns of 
a cohort of non-resident students who entered 
in academic year 1998-99.   

Exhibit 3 
The Reclassification of Students Results in  
an Annual Projected Loss of $28.2 Million  
Tuition Revenue to Institutions 

 University 
System 

Community 
College System 

First-time-in college $8,740,685 $5,490,568 

First-time in graduate school $6,391,576 NA 

Transfer students $3,128,407 $4,478,103 

Total $18,260,668  $9,968,671 

Grand Total $28,229,339 
Source: OPPAGA analysis of data from DOE Divisions of 
Community Colleges and Colleges and Universities. 

Institutions use varying criteria for residency 
decisions.  In the absence of clear criteria, 
universities and community colleges have 
developed varying standards for deciding when 
to reclassify students as Florida residents.  As a 
result, students with similar circumstances can 
receive different residency classifications 

depending on what institution they attend.  For 
example, some institutions have a practice of 
reclassifying students as residents if they submit 
one or two basic Florida documents (such as a 
driver license and voter registration) dated 12 
months prior to the term for which they seek to 
be reclassified.  However, possessing these 
documents does not prove that the student 
moved to Florida for reasons other than just to 
attend school.  In essence, these institutions 
circumvent the intent in law that students must 
meet residency requirements prior to 
qualification.   

In contrast, other institutions will not reclassify 
students as residents after a year of enrollment 
unless they can provide additional proof of their 
intent to establish a domicile in the state, by 
providing employment records, purchasing a 
Florida home, or providing proof of a homestead 
exemption.  For example, an institution refused 
to reclassify a student based on a Florida driver 
license and voter registration until she also 
submitted a copy of her non-resident parents’ 
federal income tax form showing that she was 
not claimed as a dependent, a copy of the 
student’s income tax form, and her Florida bank 
statement showing income. 

Other states have clearer residency 
requirements that reduce the ambiguity of 
evaluating intent of establishing residence.  
Several states define the 12-month eligibility 
period based on the time spent in the state 
before enrollment or registration and not prior 
to qualification, as does Florida law.  Students 
enrolling in these states are, in general, not 
eligible for reclassification during their 
continuous enrollment.  For example, Texas has 
mandated that students gainfully employed for 
12 months before enrollment are entitled to 
residency, while a 12-month period of 
employment during enrollment can be the basis 
for reclassification as a resident at the end of that 
period if other evidence indicates establishment 
of domicile in the state.  Georgia rule states that 
no student shall be deemed to have gained or 
acquired in-state status for tuition purposes 
while attending any educational institution in 
the absence of clearly demonstrated facts 
establishing legal residence in the state.  

                                                 
2 Our estimate is based on the number of nonresident students 

enrolled in academic year 2000-01.  To this number we applied 
the reclassification rates from the 1998-99 cohort and the most 
recent published retention rates.  Our estimate includes 
undergraduate and graduate students, excluding university 
students who received tuition waivers.  
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We believe that the Legislature should consider 
establishing a similar clear test for residency 
determinations.  If Florida eliminated 
reclassification, institutions could receive $28.2 
million in additional revenue from non-residents 
if these individuals remained enrolled, as 
described above.   

Current residency criteria also provide 
insufficient guidance for determining student 
dependency status  
A related problem is that residency criteria also 
do not adequately delineate how universities 
and community colleges should determine the 
dependent status of students.  Student 
dependent status is a critical factor in 
determining residency because it determines 
whether institutions base their residency 
evaluation on the circumstances of the student 
or their parents.  When students are dependent, 
institutions will base their residency decisions on 
the characteristics of the person upon whom the 
student is dependent.  In contrast, for an 
independent student, institutions base their 
residency determination on the student’s own 
circumstances.  

In some cases, being classified as independent 
will make it easier for students to prove 
residency.  For example, a student who can 
document that he or she has lived in Florida for 
a year, but is financially dependent on parents 
living in another state, would not qualify for in-
state residency.  However, the student would 
likely be classified as a Florida resident and thus 
pay lower tuition if he or she were considered to 
be financially independent.   

The current residency criteria provide minimal 
guidance on the need to determine dependency 
and how institutions should address student 
dependency.  The law defines dependency 
based on whether parents may claim the student 
as a dependent under the federal income tax 
code.  The residency guidelines expand on the 
law by stating that tax statements may be used 
to determine dependency status.  However, the 
law, rules, and guidelines do not require 
institutions to consistently verify dependency 
status by examining income tax records or other 

indicators of financial status.  Instead, 
institutions set their own policies on when and 
how they verify a student’s dependency status.   

Institutions have developed varying standards 
for student independence.  In practice, 
institutions use very different criteria and 
standards when deciding whether or not to 
verify a student’s independent status.  For 
example, officials of several institutions said they 
consider all students who are 18 years or older as 
independent regardless of whether they are 
financially dependent on their parents.  Thus, 
18-year old students applying to these 
institutions are automatically regarded as 
independent and may claim residency based on 
documents that they acquired since coming to 
Florida.  

In contrast, officials of other Florida institutions 
stated that their practice was to routinely verify 
the independence of students, especially 
students under the age of 24.  These institutions 
require younger students claiming 
independence to provide information about 
their own financial status so that officials can 
determine if they are financially dependent or 
not.  The information typically requested 
includes tax or earnings statements and letters 
from employers.   

The universities and community colleges also 
vary in how they evaluate students’ income 
when making residency decisions.  We surveyed 
universities and found that the minimum 
income level they require to classify a student as 
financially independent ranges from $5,000 to 
$10,000 annually (see Exhibit 4).  Students with 
annual incomes of $5,000 would be considered 
independent by some institutions, allowing 
them to base their residency claims on personal 
documentation.  However, other institutions 
would require these students to demonstrate 
that they earned at least $10,000 to do so.  
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Exhibit 4 
Institutions Use Different Minimum Income 
Standards When Verifying Student Independence  

 
Minimum Amount of Student 

Income Required for Independency 

Florida A&M University $5,000  

Florida Atlantic University $10,000 
Florida Gulf Coast 
University $7,000 
Florida International 
University $10,000 

Florida State University No minimum income requirement 

New College of Florida $6,546 
University of Central 
Florida $6,500 
University of South 
Florida 51% of estimated expenses and tuition 

Source: OPPAGA interviews with registration and residency 
officials, January 2003. 

Other states have established more explicit 
criteria and guidelines regarding independence 
determinations.  These states require students to 
submit residency application forms that must 
include tax return information (ranging from the 
most recent year to three years prior to 
enrollment) for themselves or the persons who 
are financially supporting them.  For example, 
California and Kentucky require students to 
prove they are financially self-sufficient and 
cannot be claimed as a dependent before the 
student is classified as a resident.  California 
requires that the student be entirely self-
supporting and present in the state for more 
than one year immediately preceding the 
residency determination date to be entitled to 
resident classification.  Again, we believe that the 
Legislature should consider establishing a 
similar clear test for residency independence 
determinations for Florida universities and 
community colleges. 

Institutions apply different residency 
documentation requirements  
A third area in which Florida’s universities and 
communities colleges are using varying criteria 
for student residency determinations is in their 
documentation requirements.  Specifically, 

institutions vary in the type of supporting 
evidence accepted to determine residency, the 
number and dates of documentation required, 
and their verification of information provided by 
students.   

Institutions vary with regard to the number and 
type of supporting evidence they require for 
students to prove residency.  While information 
submitted to one institution may be sufficient to 
grant the student residency, the same 
information can be considered insufficient by 
other institutions.  Admissions and registrars 
officials make residency decisions based on the 
preponderance of evidence of physical and legal 
presence in Florida.  

Most institutional officials we spoke with require 
students without an “all Florida” application to 
provide at least two documents dated 12 months 
prior to the term for which they are attempting 
to qualify for residency. 3  However, several 
institutions require students to submit just one 
document, usually a driver license.  Some 
institutions require no additional evidence of 
residency; these institutions essentially grant in-
state residency if the student claims that they 
qualify for this status. 

Institutions also vary in terms of the type of 
documentation required to classify a student.  
For example, several institutions simply accept a 
student’s statement on the residency affidavit 
regarding when they established residence in 
Florida without requiring any backup 
documentation.  In contrast, other institutions 
require students to substantiate this information 
with a copy of the declaration of domicile or a 
lease.  Some institutions will make residency 
decisions based on documents such as a driver 
license or vehicle registration, others will require 
the student to also provide proof of employment 
and or sufficient income.  The latter institutions 
will not classify a student as resident if he or she 
cannot provide this documentation. 

                                                 
3 Documents requested commonly include a Florida driver license, 

voter or vehicle registration, or declaration of domicile. However, 
if students do not possess these documents, institutions also 
accept rental agreements, utility or insurance bills, letters of 
employment, and other documents.  
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However, residency classification is more 
problematic for other students, such as those 
who lack Florida high school diplomas or 
applied from out-of-state.  To determine 
whether universities and community colleges 
appropriately apply residency criteria, we 
reviewed random samples of student files from 
12 student populations who had a potential for 
misclassification (see Exhibit 6).  We used 
discovery sampling to determine if there were 
significant problems of misclassification, and 
examined enough cases for each selected 
student population to be 95% confident that the 
rate of misclassifications was less than 5% if no 
errors were identified.  When we found errors in 
the files sampled, we estimated ranges of lower 
and upper limits of misclassification rates for the 
respective populations based on the results of 
the sample.   

Even in areas in which the criteria are 
clear, institutions frequently 
misclassify non-residents as  
Florida residents 
In addition to the problems associated with 
unclear residency criteria and consistency, 
institutions frequently misclassify certain 
students even on criteria clearly delineated in 
law and rule.  These misclassifications were 
mostly due to institutions’ failure to base 
decisions on documentation clearly required in 
rule and residency guidelines.   

The most significant problems in 
misclassifications we observed occurred for 
students who transferred to another institution 
and those who changed their residency status 
from non-resident to resident after living in 
Florida for at least 12 months. In our examination, we reviewed the residency 

files used by the institutions to classify students, 
including application forms and residency 
affidavits and all copies of documentation and 
checklists used to make residency decisions.  We 
determined if this information supported the 
residency determination and discussed each 
questioned case with university and community 
college officials.   

Residency classification is more problematic 
for certain student groups.  Residency 
determination for most students is a 
straightforward process.  The vast majority of 
the students who first attended college in the 
2000-01 academic year were classified as 
residents (see Exhibit 5).  Most of these were “all 
Florida” students, i.e., they had graduated from 
a Florida high school and lived in the state.  As 
such, they clearly met Florida’s residency 
requirements.   

Exhibit 6 
We Examined Residency Classifications  
for 12 Groups of Students  

Exhibit 5 
The Majority of Students in Florida’s Public 
Postsecondary Institutions Are Classified as 
Residents 

State University System 
1 First-time-in-college (FTIC) university students entering in 

2000-01 as Florida residents from age 17 to 21 without a 
Florida high school diploma or GED 

2 FTIC university students entering in 2000-01 classified as 
Florida residents who were not U.S. citizens 

3 FTIC university students entering in 2000-01 classified as 
Florida residents applying from out-of-state 

4 FTIC university students entering in 2000-01 classified as 
Florida residents based on exceptions granted by Florida law 

5 First-time-in-graduate school university students entering in 
2000-01 classified as Florida residents applying from 
out-of-state 

6 Students who transferred to a university in 2000-01 who 
changed status from previous institution 

7 FTIC university students who were reclassified as Florida 
residents from 1998-99 through 2000-01 

3,5884,981

75,126

30,242

Community Colleges University System

Non-residents Florida residents (FTIC only)

Source:  OPPAGA analysis of data from DOE Divisions of 
Community Colleges and Colleges and Universities. 
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Exhibit 6 (continued) 
Community College System 

8 FTIC community college students entering in 2000-01 as 
Florida residents from age 17 to 21 without a Florida high 
school diploma or GED 

9 FTIC community college students entering in 2000-01 
classified as Florida residents who were not U.S. citizens 

10 FTIC community college students entering in 2000-01 
classified as Florida residents applying from out-of-state 

11 Students who transferred to a community college in 2000-01 
who changed status from previous institution 

12 FTIC community college students who were reclassified as 
Florida residents from 1998-99 through 2000-01 

Source:  OPPAGA analysis. 

Misclassification problems frequently 
occurred in six student groups  
We found frequent residency misclassifications 
in 6 of the 12 student groups we examined.  In 
all of these cases, the errors resulted in students 
incorrectly being classified as Florida residents, 
which qualified them for lower tuition rates that 
are subsidized by state funding.  For two groups 
the estimated minimum error rates were greater 
than 5%, while four additional groups had 
minimum misclassification rates between 3.4% 
and 4.7% (see Exhibit 7).   

The highest rate of misclassification occurred 
among first-time-in-college non-resident 
community college students who were 
reclassified as residents within three years.  We 
estimate that errors were made in between 8.2% 
to 25% of these students.  Universities also had a 
substantial error rate for students who were 
reclassified as residents; we estimate that errors 
were made in between 3.4% to a high of 16.6% 
of such cases. 

Community colleges also had a high 
misclassification rate for first-time-in-college 
students who applied from out-of-state, with 
errors ranging from an estimated low of 5.3% to 
a high of 21.8%.  Similarly, universities had a 
high rate of error for students without Florida 
high school diplomas, ranging from an 
estimated low of 3.6% to a high of 17.1%. 

Both community colleges and universities had 
substantial rates of misclassification for transfer 

students.  Errors by community colleges for 
these students ranged from an estimated low of 
4.6% to a high of 18.6%, while errors by 
universities occurred in an estimated 4.7% to 
18.3% of such cases. 

Exhibit 7 
We Found Substantial Misclassification Rates 
in 6 of the 12 Student Groups  

Estimated  
Error Rate 

Student Group 

Number of 
Students in 
Population Lower Upper 

FTIC community college 
students reclassified 
within three years1 4,614 8.2% 25.0% 
FTIC community college 
students applying from 
out-of-state 2,346 5.3% 21.8% 
Students transferring to a 
community college who 
changed status 1,234 4.6% 18.6% 
Students transferring to a 
university who changed 
status 568 4.7% 18.3% 
FTIC university student 
with no Florida high 
school diploma, 
age 17-21 1,240 3.6% 17.1% 
FTIC university students 
reclassified within  
three years 1,742 3.4% 16.6% 

*See Appendix A for complete results. 

1 FTIC refers to first-time-in college. 

Source:  DOE Divisions of Community Colleges and Colleges and 
Universities data files for number of students; OPPAGA analysis of 
student file reviews for estimated error rates. 

Misclassifications were largely due to three 
types of errors.  In the identified 
misclassifications, the documentation in the 
institutional files did not support the Florida 
residency classification of the student; further, in 
many cases the available evidence indicated that 
students were actually residents of another state.  
Specifically, we found that  

 some institutions failed to require at least 
one legal document for students who did not 
submit an  “all Florida” application (did not 
graduate from a Florida high school and 
addresses were not in Florida); 
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 some institutions did not require copies of 
documentation for statutory exemptions to 
residency requirements as instructed in the 
residency guidelines and residency form; 
and 

Institutions lack a quality assurance process to 
verify and monitor the accuracy of their 
residency classifications.  One reason why 
institutions make frequent residency 
determination errors is that most lack a quality 
assurance process for reviewing residency 
decisions.  This is particularly important given 
the unclear residency criteria discussed above.   

 some institutions accepted documents that 
did not meet the 12-month residency 
requirement.  

Establishing internal quality assurance processes 
could help prevent the costly misclassification 
problems found by our review.  University and 
community college admissions and registrars 
officials we interviewed said that their 
institutions have no formal process in place to 
evaluate their decisions on residency. Even 
though some institutions use informal peer 
reviews, these are conducted without formal 
guidelines. 4  In addition, some professional 
schools make residency decisions for their 
students independent of their institution’s 
regular admissions process.  These schools have 
a higher risk of developing and applying 
inconsistent criteria because their procedures are 
developed apart from regular registration 
offices. 

Exhibit 8 gives examples of the clear 
misclassifications we found.  When we discussed 
the cases we identified as being misclassified 
with institutional officials, they typically 
concurred that the classifications were in error 
and in some cases, the institutions subsequently 
changed the students’ status back to non-
resident.   

Exhibit 8 
Our Review Found Many Examples of Residency 
Determination Errors  

Examples of Misclassifications 
• A student was classified as a resident based on her claim to 

be dependent on a sister who lived in Florida. However, the 
institution had no documentation that the sister provided 
evidence that the student lived with her for at least five years, 
as required by law.  The student’s file also contained no 
evidence of how long the sister had lived in Florida, which was 
a critical omission since the student was claiming to be 
dependent on her sister.   

• A student was classified as a resident even though she had 
not submitted a copy of her resident alien card nor any other 
information indicating she lived in Florida.  Furthermore, 
information contained in the student’s file showed that she had 
a permanent out-of-state address and had graduated from an 
out-of-state high school. 

• A student was reclassified as a resident after 12 months even 
though she graduated from an out-of-state high school and 
her permanent and emergency addresses were in another 
state.  Furthermore, institution officials could not produce any 
evidence to substantiate their decision to support the student’s 
residency claim. 

• Three students at one institution were incorrectly classified as 
residents due to data entry errors. 

Establishing periodic internal checks of 
residency decisions, including those of 
professional schools, would help uncover 
systematic errors and misperceptions by 
employees in the decision process and reduce 
error rates.  Institution inspectors general or 
other appropriate managers or local boards 
could perform these reviews. Results could be 
compiled by the Residency Committee, which 
would benefit the system as a whole, help make 
residency decisions more consistent, and 
prevent the loss of tuition revenue. 5 

                                                 
4 Residency determinations also are not routinely examined by the 

Auditor General’s Office’s biennial operational audits of 
postsecondary institutions. 

Source: OPPAGA file review of student files provided by public 
community colleges and universities. 

5 The Residency Committee is composed of members of the 
Divisions of the University and College System and the 
Community College System, including administrative employees 
of the institutions and attorneys. It meets bi-annually to discuss 
changes and issues in residency criteria and to update the 
guidelines according to changes in the law and emigration 
policies. 
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Conclusions and 
Recommendations _______ 

There are major weaknesses in the current 
criteria and procedures used by Florida’s 
universities and community colleges to make 
student residency determinations.  Improved 
residency determination practices could 
generate an additional $28.2 million for Florida’s 
universities and community colleges.   

To improve the residency classification process, 
we recommend that the Legislature consider 
amending Florida statutes to clarify residency 
criteria.   

The present language in the law requiring a 12-
month time period in the state prior to eligibility 
for “qualification” is ambiguous and often 
interpreted as referring to the time spent since a 
student first came to the state to enroll.  The 
change below would address this concern. 

 Amend Florida law to require that students 
(or their parents if the students are 
dependents) must maintain legal residence 
in the state for at least 12 months 
immediately prior to their initial enrollment 
or registration at a Florida public 
postsecondary institution to be eligible for 
classification for in-state residency. 

The Legislature has several options to more 
clearly define when a non-resident student 
could be eligible for reclassification as a resident.  
The first, more restrictive option, could result in 
the $28.2 million savings discussed previously, 
assuming that these individuals remained 
enrolled, and requires the student to reside in 
Florida for 12 months while not enrolled in an 
educational institution. 
 A nonresident student may be reclassified as 

a resident if the individual can provide 
evidence of having established a permanent 
domicile in Florida for a 12-month period 
during which the individual was not 
enrolled in an educational institution.  
Evidence of domicile should include the 
purchase of a home, or gainful employment 

in Florida, or financial independence 
supporting 51% of the true cost of living 
expenses. 

A second less restrictive option would not 
require a student to leave the educational 
institution for a year but require the same 
eligibility criteria as described above.  
 A nonresident student may be reclassified as 

a resident if the individual can provide 
evidence of having established a permanent 
domicile in Florida for a 12-month period by 
the purchase of a home, or gainful 
employment in Florida, or financial 
independence supporting 51% of the true 
cost of living expenses. 

In order to ascertain financial independence of 
students essential to the establishment of 
domicile in the state, clear requirements of 
documentation need to be provided. 
 Students under the age of 25 claiming to be 

independent should be required to provide 
copies of tax returns showing that they have 
not been claimed as dependents by their 
parents or others for income and 
employment records showing that they are 
financially self-supporting. 

We also recommend that the State Board of 
Education clarify residency criteria in Florida 
Administrative Code by requiring two actions. 

 Require institutions to establish internal 
reviews and/or a central residency office to 
review and verify classification decisions, 
including those of professional schools.  
These reviews could be done by inspectors 
general, designated management staff, or 
local boards, and should include 
examinations of residency determinations 
made by professional schools outside of the 
institution’s regular residency process.  

 Establish minimum documentation 
standards for residency applications.  This 
will help ensure that admissions and 
residency employees examine consistent 
documentation when making their 
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12 

determinations, and will facilitate internal 
evaluations of these decisions.  

We also recommend that the Residency 
Committee take the actions described below.  

 Modify the Postsecondary Residency 
Guidelines to clarify the minimum 
documentation requirement for “all Florida” 
(Florida high school graduation and Florida 
permanent and emergency addresses) 
applicants and other applicants to be 
classified as Florida residents.  For example, 
applicants without an “all Florida” 
application should routinely be required to 
submit copies of at least two legal documents 
dated at least 12 months prior to their 
application for residency.  

 Modify the standard residency form in 
applications to include questions about filed 
taxes or earned wages.  These questions 
should be answered by the person claiming 
Florida residency and should cover the most 
recent to two years prior to enrollment.  In 
addition, the Residency Committee may 
consider routinely requesting copies of 
documents such as certified tax returns or 
wage/earnings statements.  

 Develop standards to evaluate students’ 
independent status.  A standard definition 
may be a student’s earning or possessing 
funding to provide for at least 51% of the 
true cost of living expenses.  This definition 
would allow for variation of cost of living 
expenses between geographic areas in the 
state.    

 Compile results from institutions’ internal 
reviews of residency determinations to 
identify problem areas needing correction as 
well as best practices.  These should be 
distributed to institutions’ residency 
classification offices. 

Agency Response________  

Any response that OPPAGA receives from the 
Commissioner of Education and the Secretary of 
the Department of Education will be published 
on OPPAGA’s website. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OPPAGA provides objective, independent, professional analyses of state policies and services to assist the Florida Legislature in decision 
making, to ensure government accountability, and to recommend the best use of public resources.  This project was conducted in 
accordance with applicable evaluation standards.  Copies of this report in print or alternate accessible format may be obtained by telephone 
(850/488-0021 or 800/531-2477), by FAX (850/487-3804), in person, or by mail (OPPAGA Report Production, Claude Pepper Building, 
Room 312, 111 W. Madison St., Tallahassee, FL  32399-1475). 
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