
 

 

Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability 
an office of the Florida Legislature 

 
Information Brief 
June  2004 Report No. 04-44 

Stronger Financial Incentives Could Encourage 
Students to Graduate With Fewer Excess Hours 
at a glance 
Student enrollment in Florida’s higher education 
institutions is projected to grow faster than higher 
education’s share of state revenues. The Legislature 
may wish to consider providing financial incentives to 
encourage students to graduate with fewer excess hours 
and thereby decrease costs. The financial incentives, 
which other states have used and could be implemented 
in Florida, include  

 charging the full cost for credit hours in excess of 
115% of graduation requirements, which could save  
$29 million annually; 

 providing tuition rebates to students who graduate 
with minimal excess hours, which could serve as an 
incentive for timely graduation and could save 
$3.5 million annually; and/or 

 offering “locked-in” tuition, under which students 
who do not graduate within four years would pay 
the higher tuition rates charged to new students, 
which may encourage students to graduate in four 
years. 

Scope _________________  
This project was conducted in response to a 
legislative request to identify financial incentives 
the Legislature could mandate to help to 
decrease state higher education funding costs by 
encouraging students to earn degrees with 
fewer excess hours.  This report does not address 
administrative strategies, such as improved 

counseling, that universities could implement to 
reduce excess hours. 1  A companion report 
examines alternatives to the state’s current 
higher education tuition and funding practices.   

Background ____________  
The Legislature provides funding and policy 
direction for state postsecondary institutions.  In 
Fiscal Year 2003-04, the Legislature appropriated 
approximately $2.5 billion in general revenue 
and lottery funds to support Florida’s higher 
education institutions, including the state’s 28 
community colleges and 11 universities.  To 
ensure that higher education is affordable, the 
Legislature historically has mandated relatively 
low tuition and general fees.  Resident 
undergraduates at Florida institutions pay less in 
tuition and general fees than resident 
undergraduates at peer institutions. 2  However, 
based on revenue and student enrollment 
projections, the state may not be able to continue 
subsidizing higher education at current rates 
without increasing the proportion of funding to 
higher education. 

                                                           
1 See OPPAGA report, Justification Review: State University 

System–Florida Department of Education, Report No. 01-28, May 
2001, which discusses several administrative strategies to reduce 
excess hours. 

2 See OPPAGA’s companion report, Florida Universities’ Tuition 
and Fees Slightly Below Peers, But All Costs Consume a Higher 
Percentage of Family Median Income, Report No. 04-12, February 
2004.   

http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/reports/educ/r01-28s.html
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/reports/educ/r04-12s.html
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Tuition has been increasing in Florida 
and other states; however, it is still 
well below the national average.  Over 
the past several years, Florida’s 
university resident undergraduate 
tuition and fees have increased at rates 
similar to the national average.  
Florida’s 27% increase in tuition and 
fees from Fiscal Years 1998-99 to 2002-03 
equaled the national average increase 
(see Exhibit 1).  Based on a 24-credit-
hour course load per year, the average 
undergraduate student attending a 
Florida public university paid $2,153 in 
tuition and fees in 2002-03, the most 
recent year for which data is available. 

Tuition and fees for resident students 
enrolled in Florida’s community 
colleges are lower than that charged to 
university students, and they have 
increased at a slower rate than the 
national average over the past three 
years (see Exhibit 2).  Florida’s 20% 
increase in tuition and fees from 
1998-99 to 2002-03 was below the 
national average of 24%.  The average 
Florida community college student paid 
$1,261 in tuition and fees in 2002-03, 
$892 less than their counterparts 
attending Florida public universities.   

Student enrollment is growing.  In 
2002-03, 388,830 full-time equivalent 
students were enrolled in Florida’s 
higher education programs.  Over the 
next five years, student enrollment is 
projected to grow at a rate of 5% 
annually, resulting in a 26% projected 
increase from 2002-03 to 2007-08 (see 
Exhibit 3).  The majority of these 
students are expected to enroll in the 
community college system.  

Exhibit 1 
Florida’s Five-Year Increase in University Resident 
Undergraduate Tuition and General Fees Matched National 
Average Between 1998-99 and 2002-03 
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1998-99  $2,334  $1,691  $1,974  $2,800  $1,502  $3,134 

2002-03  $2,974  $2,153  $2,607  $3,685  $1,594  $3,322 

Change 27% 27% 32% 32% 6% 6%

Average Florida Texas Illinois California New York

 
Note:  Tuition and fees are based on 24 credits per year, which is the average 
course load taken by students during the fall and spring semesters. 

Source:  OPPAGA analysis. 

Exhibit 2 
Florida’s Five-Year Increase in Community College Resident 
Undergraduate Tuition and General Fees Was Slightly Below 
the National Average Between 1998-99 and 2002-03 
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1998-99  $1,267  $1,047  $1,118  $2,042  $797  $288 

2002-03  $1,566  $1,261  $1,347  $2,284  $782  $264 

Change 24% 20% 21% 12% -2% -8%

Average Florida Illinois New York Texas California 

 
Note:  Tuition and fees are based on 24 credits per year, which is the average 
course load taken by students during the fall and spring semesters. 

Source:  OPPAGA analysis using data from Washington Higher Education 
Coordinating Board.  



 Information Brief 

3 

Exhibit 3 
Florida’s Higher Education Student Population  
Will Grow 26% Between 2002-03 and 2007-08 
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Note: FTE is calculated at 30 credit hours per year for both state 
university and community college systems. 

Source:  OPPAGA analysis. 

State revenue will not grow as fast as student 
enrollment.  If the state allocates the same share 
of general revenue to higher education as it did 
in 2003, the growth in state funds for higher 
education will not keep pace with student 
enrollment growth.  The Legislature 
appropriated approximately $2.5 billion in 
general revenue and lottery funds to the state’s 
community colleges and state universities for 
Fiscal Year 2003-04. 3  Although state revenues 
are projected to increase over the next five years, 
the revenues will not be sufficient to provide 
funding for student enrollment growth.  
Exhibit 4 illustrates that the projected funding 
per full-time equivalent (FTE) student would 
decrease from $6,488.65 in 2004-05 to $6,216.06 in 
2007-08. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                                                           
3 This excludes funding for the Institute of Food and Agricultural 

Sciences (IFAS) at University of Florida, Florida State Medical 
School, University of Florida Health Center and University of 
South Florida Medical Center.  However, this figure includes 
items that are not directly related to enrollment growth. 

Exhibit 4 
Projected Annual Increases in Higher Education Funding 
Are Lower Than College Enrollment Increases, Which 
Would Result in Lower Funding Per Student  

Year 

Annual 
Growth in 
Funding 1 

Annual 
Growth in 
Students 

Funding Per 
FTE 

2004-05 3% 5% $ 6,488.65 
2005-06 3% 5% 6,382.29 
2006-07 3% 5% 6,284.82 
2007-08 4% 5% 6,216.06 

1 The annual growth of funding includes general revenue and 
lottery funds. 

Note:  This exhibit assumes that higher education will receive the 
same proportion of general revenue as it does currently.  Funding 
per FTE includes both university and community college students. 
FTE is calculated at 30 credit hours per year for both state 
university and community college systems. 

Source:  OPPAGA analysis. 

Most students graduate with attempted credit 
hours in excess of graduation requirements.  
During 2002-03, students attempted 719,660 
credits in excess of graduation requirements.  
While most students (78%) accumulated some 
excess hours, most excess hours were earned by 
a relatively small number of students—20% of 
the students accounted for over half (57%) of all 
credit hours over the minimum graduation 
requirements.  The large amount of excess hours 
students accumulate drives up the cost of higher 
education. 4  The 719,660 excess hours attempted 
by students in 2002-03 cost the state $62 million.   

There are several factors that contribute to 
students taking courses they do not need for 
graduation. 

 Students who change their majors frequently 
take excess hours because some classes taken 
to pursue their first major do not count 
toward their eventual degree.  

 Students sometimes want to take courses 
they do not need for graduation.  

 Students may withdraw from or fail courses 
they enroll in, and may retake such classes. 

 
 
                                                           
4 Our analysis is limited to students graduating from the State 

University System only.  It includes excess hours that students 
bring from community colleges. 
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Florida has existing incentives built in to Bright 
Futures and Florida Prepaid programs to 
promote efficiency by encouraging students to 
graduate with fewer excess hours.  For instance, 
the Bright Futures Scholarship covers 75% to 
100% of the cost of tuition for up to 110% of the 
credit hours required for graduation.  The 
Florida Prepaid program pays tuition costs for 
120 credit hours, generally the credit hour 
requirement associated with most baccalaureate 
degree programs.  Students must pay tuition for 
excess hours earned over these limits, but they 
do not pay the total cost of these courses, as 
tuition covers only a portion of the total costs of 
providing college instruction. 

Options ________________  
To reduce the costs of excess hours, the 
Legislature may wish to consider financial 
options that other states have used to encourage 
students to reduce the number of courses they 
take. 5   These options are to   

 charge higher tuition for excess hours;  
 provide tuition rebates for students who 

graduate with few excess hours; and 
 offer “locked-in” tuition to encourage 

students to graduate in four years. 

Notwithstanding the merits of the above 
options, their effect on the course-taking 
patterns of students enrolled in Florida’s 
postsecondary institutions is uncertain. 

Option 1 - Charge students a higher cost per 
credit hour for excess hours   
Other states charge students higher tuition for 
excess credit hours.  Both North Carolina and 
Texas have established thresholds beyond which 
students are required to pay higher tuition.  In 
1994, North Carolina established a policy of 
charging students 25% more for hours in excess 
of 110% of the amount needed for a degree.  
Under this policy, excess credit hours include all 
regular session degree courses excluding 
acceleration hours that the student completed, 
repeated, failed or dropped.  According to a 
                                                           
5 This report does not address administrative and programmatic 

strategies to reduce excess hours. 

preliminary report, after adopting this policy, the 
average number of credit hours attempted and 
the average number of hours earned by North 
Carolina graduates decreased.  Similarly, Texas 
charges higher tuition when a student takes 45 
hours or more over the number required to 
graduate.  The excess hour tuition may be 
increased up to the non-resident tuition rate.  

If Florida were to implement a policy similar to 
those implemented in North Carolina and Texas, 
the Legislature would establish a threshold 
beyond which students would be charged a 
higher tuition rate.  To recoup the total cost of 
excess hours the Legislature could set the excess 
hours tuition rate at the full cost of the credit 
hours.  We examined the effects of setting 
thresholds for higher tuition at 

 115% over the minimum graduation 
requirements and 

 110% over the minimum graduation 
requirements. 

Setting a threshold of 115% could save Florida 
$29 million annually.  If the Legislature required 
students who take more than 115% of the credit 
hours needed for graduation to pay a higher 
tuition cost for these excess hours, typical students 
(those whose programs require 120 credit hours) 
could take up to 18 credit hours (which represents 
one and a half additional semesters given the 
current average student course load of 12 credit 
hours per semester) more than they need to 
graduate before being required to pay higher 
tuition rates.  The Fiscal Year 2002-03 graduating 
class accumulated 337,837 credit hours in excess of 
115% of their degree requirements.  A small 
proportion (20%) of these students earned 83% of 
these excess credit hours.  If students were 
required to pay the full costs of the excess credit 
hours, the state could save approximately $29 
million under a 115% threshold (see Exhibit 5).  
Appendix A shows the excess hours by university. 
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Exhibit 5  
Excess Hours Earned by Recent Graduates 
Increased State Costs 

$38,988,816 $37,491,544

$28,895,212$30,394,234

2001-2002 2002-2003

Over 110% Excess Credits
Over 115% Excess Credits

 
Source:  OPPAGA analysis of SUS Hours to Degree file. 

Setting a threshold of 110% could save Florida 
$37 million annually.  Alternately, the 
Legislature could set the threshold at 110% the 
credit hours needed for graduation.  Establishing 
the 110% threshold would enable typical 
students to take an additional 12 credit hours 
(which represents one additional semester given 
the current average student course load of 12 
credit hours per semester) over graduation 
requirements before being charged higher rates.  
The 2002-03 graduating class accumulated 
438,344 in credit hours over 110% of their degree 
requirements, with 20% taking about 74% of 
these credit hours.  If students were required to 
pay the full cost of the excess credit hours, the 
state could save approximately $37 million 
annually under a 110% threshold.  See Appendix 
A for the excess hours by university. 

Option 2 – Provide tuition rebates for 
students who graduate on time  
A second alternative would be to provide cash 
rebates similar to those provided by Texas to 
encourage students to graduate with limited 
excess hours.  Texas offers tuition rebates of up 
to $1,000 to students who graduate with no more 
than three attempted hours in excess of the 
minimum required for earning a degree.  The 
rebate is pro-rated on the basis of the amount of 
tuition students pay.   

If Florida were to implement a similar program 
to that of Texas, to ensure that tuition revenues 
do not decline, it could increase tuition rates to 

recoup the projected cost of rebates.  Offering 
cash rebates would give students a financial 
incentive to plan their coursework and graduate 
with few excess classes.  State data indicates that 
12% of the students in the Fiscal Year 2002-03 
graduating class at Florida’s universities 
graduated with no more than three credit hours 
over the required minimum.  Currently about 
24% of all students graduate with more than 
three but less than 110% of the credit hours need 
to graduate.  If a tuition rebate program 
motivated these students to graduate with no 
more than three excess credit hours, the state 
could save $3.5 million. 

Option 3 – Offer “locked-In” tuition to 
students who graduate on time 
A third alternative would be to lock in tuition 
rates to encourage students to graduate within a 
specified number of years.  Under a locked-in 
tuition policy, the state would establish a single 
tuition rate that students entering college would 
pay over the next four years.  To make this 
option revenue-neutral, the state would need to 
identify the total amount students would pay for 
tuition over their four-year college tenure, divide 
that amount into four equal pieces, and 
guarantee students that they will pay the same 
tuition rate each year.  If students do not 
complete their degrees within four years, they 
would be charged the higher tuition rates 
charged to that year’s newly entering students.   

Locked-in tuition has been used with some 
success at Western Illinois University (WIU) 
since 1999.  Students at this university pay a flat 
rate for tuition, fees, room and board which is 
held constant for the next four years.  For 
instance, tuition was locked in at $93.75 per 
credit hour for  WIU  students who  enrolled in 
Fall 2000 (see Exhibit 6).  If WIU students do not 
graduate in four years, they must pay the same 
rate as newly entering students, which with 
inflation is substantially higher.  For example, 
these students would pay $151.25 per credit 
hour if they did not graduate in four years.  
Illinois will implement a locked-in tuition policy 
statewide beginning in 2004-05.  The statewide 
locked-in tuition policy will not include fees or 
room and board expenses.   
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Exhibit 6 
Example of Locked-in Tuition Annual Costs for a 
Student Earning a Degree that Requires 120 Credits 

Year  of 
Enrollment 

Tuition 
per  

Credit 
Hour 

Cost to 
Students Taking  
12 Credits per 
Semester/24 

Credits per Year 

Cost to 
Students Taking  
15 Credits per 
Semester/30 

Credits per Year  
2000-01 $  93.75  $  2,250.00 $  2,812.50 
2001-02 93.75  2,250.00 2,812.50 
2002-03 93.75  2,250.00 2,812.50 
2003-04 93.75  2,250.00 2,812.50 
2004-05 151.25 3,630.00 --- 
Total Cost 
of Tuition  $12,630.00 $11,250.00 

Source:   Western Illinois University. Tuition rates for in-state students. 

Locking in tuition may provide incentives to 
students to meet their degree requirements 
faster.  Between Fiscal Years 1995-96 and 2003-
04, tuition has increased between 5% and 8.5% 
in Florida; tuition increases have been 
approximately 7% in recent years.  Under a 
locked-in tuition policy, resident tuition would 
be held constant for four years for each entering 
cohort of students in the state university system.  
Assuming an annual 6% increase in tuition, if 
tuition were locked in at $69.35 per credit for 120 
credit hours over a period of four years, students 
would pay $8,322 in tuition. 6  Students would  
 

                                                           
6 Setting the per-credit-hour charge at $69.35 for 120 credits over a 

period of four years at a 6% annual increase in tuition ensures 
that this locked-in rate will not change the tuition revenues 
collected by the Florida universities at the existing per-credit-
hour charge based on incremental tuition increases each year. 

have a greater financial incentive to graduate 
within four years because they would be 
charged a higher rate ($87.55 per credit hour) for 
the fifth year, the same rate that entering 
students would be charged.   

Locked-in tuition may result in part-time 
students paying more in tuition than full-time 
students. A disadvantage of locked-in tuition is 
that it could adversely affect part time students.  
Locked-in tuition would work similarly for both 
full-time and part-time students.  Part-time 
students would be able to receive the locked-in 
tuition rate for four years.  However, after the 
first four years these students would be charged 
the locked-in tuition rate for the next succeeding 
cohort.  Because the new locked-in tuition is 
higher, part time students will pay more than 
they would have paid unless they graduate with 
their full-time cohorts. 

Potential effects of options on the Bright 
Futures and Prepaid College Programs are 
generally small 
The fiscal impacts of three options discussed 
above on the Florida Prepaid College and Bright 
Futures Scholarship programs are uncertain and 
dependent on a variety of factors.  However, for 
the most part, these tuition policy options likely 
would not significantly affect the financial 
soundness of the Prepaid College Program or 
substantially affect Bright Futures expenditures.  
Exhibit 7 summarizes the likely effects of each 
option on the two programs. 

Exhibit 7 
Effects of Policy Options on Bright Futures and Prepaid Programs 

Policy Option Prepaid College Program 1 Bright Futures 
Higher Tuition for Excess Hours No effect.  Prepaid tuition contracts are for 120 

credits. 
Minor positive effect.  There may be cost savings if 
the policy motivates some students who would 
otherwise have taken at least 110% of the required 
program hours to finish with fewer than 110%. 

Tuition Rebate No effect. Awarding tuition rebates will not 
affect the Prepaid program. 

Minor positive effect.  There may be cost savings if 
the policy motivates some students to reduce their 
excess credit hours to no more than three beyond 
graduation requirements. 

Locked-In Tuition No effect. For new contracts, the program could 
adjust prices to accommodate the new policy. 

Positive effect.  This would reduce Bright Futures 
spending because the program pays a percentage of 
tuition.  However, Bright Futures provides as least 
some incentive for students not to change their 
behavior in response to this policy. 

1 Effects on the Prepaid College Program refer to the impacts on the program’s actuarial balance. 
Source: OPPAGA analysis.  
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Appendix A 

Number of Excess Hours Varies by University 
 

The percentage of graduates with hours in excess of 115% of graduation requirements 
varies considerably by university.  Table A-1 shows that the percentage of graduates who 
earned hours in excess of 115% of those required for graduation in Fiscal Year 2001-02, 
ranged from 57% at Florida A & M University and Florida International University to 31% 
at Florida State University.  In comparison to students at other universities, more 
graduates from Florida A&M University, Florida Gulf Coast University, and Florida 
International University graduated with hours in excess of 115% of those required for 
graduation. Institutional percentages remained relatively similar for graduates in 2002-03, 
with the exception of Florida Atlantic University, which experienced a 13% decline.  
Similar to the findings for the 115% threshold, the percentage of graduates with hours in 
excess of 110% of the graduation requirement also varies considerably by institution (see 
Table A-2). 

 
Table A-1  
SUS Students Over the 115% Standard 
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Source:  OPPAGA analysis of SUS Hours to Degree file. 

Table A-2 
SUS Students Over the 110% Standard 
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Source:  OPPAGA analysis of SUS Hours to Degree file. 
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Visit the Florida Monitor, OPPAGA’s online service.  See www.oppaga.state.fl.us.  This site 
monitors the performance and accountability of Florida government by making OPPAGA's 
four primary products available online.   

 OPPAGA publications and contracted reviews, such as policy analyses and performance 
reviews, assess the efficiency and effectiveness of state policies and programs and 
recommend improvements for Florida government. 

 Performance-based program budgeting (PB²) reports and information offer a variety of 
tools.  Program evaluation and justification reviews assess state programs operating under 
performance-based program budgeting.  Also offered are performance measures 
information and our assessments of measures. 

 Florida Government Accountability Report (FGAR) is an Internet encyclopedia of Florida 
state government.  FGAR offers concise information about state programs, policy issues, 
and performance.   

 Best Financial Management Practices Reviews of Florida school districts. In accordance with 
the Sharpening the Pencil Act, OPPAGA and the Auditor General jointly conduct reviews 
to determine if a school district is using best financial management practices to help school 
districts meet the challenge of educating their students in a cost-efficient manner. 

Subscribe to OPPAGA’s electronic newsletter, Florida Monitor Weekly, a free source for brief  
e-mail announcements of research reports, conferences, and other resources of interest for 
Florida's policy research and program evaluation community.  

 

OPPAGA supports the Florida Legislature by providing evaluative research and objective analyses to promote government 
accountability and the efficient and effective use of public resources.  This project was conducted in accordance with applicable 
evaluation standards.  Copies of this report in print or alternate accessible format may be obtained by telephone (850/488-0021 
or 800/531-2477), by FAX (850/487-3804), in person, or by mail (OPPAGA Report Production, Claude Pepper Building,  
Room 312, 111 W. Madison St., Tallahassee, FL  32399-1475). 

Florida Monitor:  www.oppaga.state.fl.us 
Project supervised by David Summers, Chief Legislative Analyst (850/487-9257) 

Project conducted by Shruti Graf (850/487-2512), Bryan Conrad (850/487-9238), and Steve Harkreader (850/487-9225) 
Jane Fletcher, Staff Director (850/487-9255), 

Gary R. VanLandingham, OPPAGA Interim Director 
 

http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/reports/reports.html
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/budget/pb2.html
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/government
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/school_districts/districtreviews.html
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/weekly/default.asp
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