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Department Has Taken Steps to Improve  
the Detection of Uninsured Motorists 
at a glance 
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 
has taken steps to reduce the length of time that it takes to 
identify uninsured motorists.  Under its former system, an 
uninsured motorist could operate a vehicle for an extended 
period of time (165 days) before being identified and 
subjected to enforcement action.  The department is now 
implementing an on-line insurance data reporting system 
that, along with other changes, is expected to reduce this 
time period to 60 days.  Currently, 129 insurance 
companies, accounting for approximately 95% of the 
motor vehicle insurance policies in the state, are using this 
new reporting system. 

 

The department reported that Florida’s uninsured motorist 
rate was 5.9% (or 665,475 uninsured vehicles) as of June 
2004, which was significantly lower than the estimated 
rate in prior years.  The lower rate appears to be primarily 
due to the department using a new methodology for 
estimating the percentage of uninsured motorists in the 
state.  However, it does not reflect the likelihood of being 
in an accident involving an uninsured motorist.  The 
department estimated that 8.2% of the vehicles involved in 
crashes during Fiscal Year 2003-04 may have been 
uninsured.  

Scope__________________  
Pursuant to s. 11.511, Florida Statutes, the Interim 
Director of the Office of Program Policy Analysis 
and Government Accountability initiated this 
project in response to legislative requests to 
review the Department of Highway Safety and 

Motor Vehicles' efforts to identify uninsured 
motorists.  This report addresses the following 
questions:  

 How does Florida detect uninsured motorists?  
 What is the department doing to reduce the 

time taken to identify and take action against 
uninsured motorists? 

 What is Florida’s uninsured motorist rate?  

                                                          

Background _____________  
Like most states, Florida requires motorists to 
carry automobile insurance to protect against 
financial losses in case of an accident.  Under 
Florida’s Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law, owners of 
motor vehicles are required to carry Personal 
Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage 
Liability (PDL) coverage on each vehicle. 1  
Persons who have been involved in crashes 
causing injuries, have been convicted of certain 
offenses, or had a judgment against them 
following a crash are required to carry bodily 
injury liability coverage under the Florida 
Financial Responsibility Law. 2  

Uninsured motorists are persons who are not in 
compliance with state laws that require motorists 
to carry insurance to cover damages resulting 
from traffic crashes.  Other drivers incur costs as 
the result of uninsured motorists.  Motorists 

 
1 Sections 627.730 - 627.7405, F.S. 
2 Chapter 324, F.S. 
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whose property is damaged in accidents with 
uninsured motorists may have to pay these costs 
out-of-pocket or file claims against their own 
collision insurance. 

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor 
Vehicles’ Bureau of Financial Responsibility is 
primarily responsible for detecting and enforcing 
compliance from uninsured motorists. 

Questions and Answers___  

How does Florida detect uninsured motorists? 
The department’s primary method for detecting 
uninsured motorists is comparing insurance policy 
cancellation and renewal data against vehicle 
registration records. 3  Section 627.736(9)(a), Florida 

Statute , requires every insurance company that 
sells PIP/PDL coverage in Florida to report the 
issuance of new policies to the department within 30 
days and report cancellations or non-renewals of 
existing policies within 45 days of their effective 
date.  The department monitors all policies reported 
as being cancelled or not renewed for up to 90 days 
to determine if replacement coverage is obtained by 
motorists.  If no replacement coverage is found 
during the 90 days, the department mails 
cancellation notices to the motorists.  These 
motorists are then given 30 days to respond to the 
department in writing, by telephone, or by e-mail 
and provide proof of being insured.  If the 
department does not receive proof that a motorist is 
insured within 30 days, it suspends the motorist’s 
driver license, tag, and registration.  See Exhibit 1 for 
a flowchart depicting the department’s process for 
detecting uninsured motorists.  

                                                           

s

3 Other methods the department uses to detect uninsured motorists 
include sampling vehicle registrations that are reported by county 
tax collectors, reviewing accident reports that involve property 
damage, and reviewing court orders that show motorists failed to 
maintain required insurance.   

 

 
Exhibit 1 
Department Plans to Reduce Enforcement Timeframe from 165 Days to 60 Days 
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Source:  OPPAGA analysis of Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles data as of June 30, 2004. 
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What is the department doing to reduce the 
time taken to identify and take action against 
uninsured motorists? 
One concern regarding the department’s method 
is that it allows uninsured motorists potentially to 
operate vehicles for an extended period of time 
(165 days, or over five months) before being 
identified and subjected to enforcement action. 

To address this concern, the department is 
implementing a two-part strategy that it expects 
will reduce the time taken to identify and take 
action against uninsured motorists.   

First, the department is reducing the time 
insurance companies have to report the 
cancellations or non-renewals of existing policies 
from 45 days to 30 days.  Industry representatives 
we interviewed reported that their companies 
worked with the department and jointly agreed to 
the 30-day reporting period, and it appears that the 
companies should not experience difficulty 
meeting this requirement.  As shown in Exhibit 2, 
department data shows that 71% (2,041,322) of the 
insurance policy cancellations in the first three 
quarters of Fiscal Year 2003-04 were reported to the 
department in 30 days or less.  Over half (57%) of 
the cancellations were reported in 20 days or less.   

Second, the department is eliminating its 90-day 
waiting period for notifying motorists who appear 
to be uninsured.  Instead, the department will 
send cancellation letters to motorists who are 
reported as uninsured either 30 days from the 
effective date of cancellation or when the 
department receives the cancellation, whichever is 
earlier.  Department employees report they will be 
able to take this step as a result of implementing a  
 

new on-line insurance data reporting system.  
This system allows insurance companies to submit 
information electronically to the department on a 
daily basis, and will enable the department to 
more quickly obtain insurance policy data and 
track policy cancellations. 4   

As shown in Exhibit 1, department managers 
expect that implementing these strategies will 
enable the department to reduce the time period 
for identifying and taking compliance action 
against uninsured motorists to 60 days. 

As of June 30, 2004, 129 insurance companies, 
which accounted for approximately 95% of the 
motor vehicle insurance policies in the state, were 
already participating in the new insurance data 
reporting system. 5  The department expects the 
system to be fully implemented by the end of 
calendar year 2004. 

The department will need to monitor the 
implementation and use of the new reporting 
system and evaluate the extent to which expected 
results are being achieved.  

What is Florida’s uninsured motorist rate? 
As of June 2004, the department reported that  
5.9% of the vehicles registered in Florida (665,475 
vehicles) were uninsured.  Exhibit 3 shows  
the department’s multi-step methodology for 
estimating the uninsured motorist rate based on its 
analysis of insurance and vehicle registration data. 

                                                           
4 Currently, most insurance companies report information on motor 

vehicle insurance coverage using magnetic tapes.  Smaller companies, 
however, report the information on manually prepared forms. 

5 According to department management, approximately 425 
insurance companies are actively selling motor vehicle insurance 
policies in Florida. 

Exhibit 2 
Insurance Companies Reported Most Cancellations Within 30 Days 1 
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1 There were 2,875,002 total cancellation cases during the period from July 1, 2003, through March 31, 2004. 
Source:  OPPAGA analysis of department data. 
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Exhibit 3 
Department Reports 5.9% of Florida‘s Registered 
Vehicles Were Uninsured in June 2004  
Step 1 - Identify the number of vehicles in the insurance 
database that appeared to have insurance coverage  9,778,306 

Step 2 - Determine the number of vehicles that were 
mistakenly identified as uninsured due to errors in  
the insurance database or when the department  
could not locate a renewal for a cancelled policy  564,529 

Step 3 - Determine the number of vehicles for which 
motorists could provide proof of insurance  282,264 

Step 4 - Sum results of Steps 1-3 to obtain total  
number of insured vehicles 10,625,099 

Step 5 - Determine the number of registered vehicles 
requiring insurance 11,290,574 

Step 6 - Determine the number of uninsured vehicles  
by subtracting the number of insured vehicles from  
Step 4 from the number of registered vehicles requiring 
insurance from Step 5 665,475 

Step 7 - Determine the uninsured motorist rate by 
dividing the number of uninsured vehicles from  
Step 6 by the number of registered vehicles requiring 
insurance from Step 5 5.9% 

Source:  OPPAGA analysis of department data. 

The department began using this methodology to 
estimate its reported uninsured motorist rate in 
Fiscal Year 2003-04.  Department managers believe 
the new methodology represents an improvement 
over the methodology used in prior years.  They 
reported that the department’s prior methodology 
overstated the uninsured rate because it did not 
take into consideration insured vehicles that were 
not in the insurance database.  Exhibit 4 shows 
that the uninsured rate computed with the new 
methodology was significantly lower than the rate 
in prior years, primarily as a result of the 
department taking such database errors into 
account. 

However, the department’s new methodology has 
some limitations.  It does not include unregistered 
vehicles that may also be uninsured nor does it 
take into account uninsured out-of-state motorists 
who are driving vehicles in Florida.  It also does  
 

not reflect the likelihood of being in an accident 
involving an uninsured motorist.  The department 
estimated that 8.2% of the vehicles involved in 
crashes during Fiscal Year 2003-04 may have been 
uninsured. 

Exhibit 4 
Department’s New Methodology Results in  
Lower Uninsured Motorist Rate  

Methodologies 
Percentage of 

Uninsured Motorists 
June 2000 18.7% 
June 2001 18.2% 
June 2002 18.5% 

Prior Methodology 

June 2003 14.7% 
New Methodology June 20041 5.9% 

1 The uninsured motorist rate as of June 2004 based on the prior 
methodology would have been 13.4%. 
Source:  Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ data. 

We contacted 12 other states to review the 
methodologies they used to estimate uninsured 
motorist rates.  Four of the 12 states used a 
methodology similar to the department in that 
they compared the number of insured vehicles to 
the number of registered vehicles in the state. 6  
However, unlike the department, these states did 
not adjust their estimates to take into account 
errors in data reported by insurance companies or 
motorists providing proof of being insured.  
Representatives of the states using this method 
reported uninsured motorist rates ranging from 
3% for Connecticut to 13% for Colorado and 
Louisiana.  Three states used the percentage of 
crashes involving uninsured motorists to 
represent the uninsured motorist rate. 7  
Representatives of these states reported their 
uninsured motorist rates ranged from 12% to 25%.  
The remaining five states used various methods to 
identify uninsured motorists including accident 
reports, vehicle registrations and court awarded 
judgments. 

                                                           
6 These states include Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, and Louisiana. 
7 These states include California, Texas, and Wisconsin. 

OPPAGA supports the Florida Legislature by providing evaluative research and objective analyses to promote government accountability and the efficient 
and effective use of public resources.  This project was conducted in accordance with applicable evaluation standards.  Copies of this report in print or 
alternate accessible format may be obtained by telephone (850/488-0021 or 800/531-2477), by FAX (850/487-3804), in person, or by mail (OPPAGA 
Report Production, Claude Pepper Building, Room 312, 111 W. Madison St., Tallahassee, FL  32399-1475).  Florida Monitor:  www.oppaga.state.fl.us 

Project supervised by Tom Roth (850/488-1024) 
Project conducted by Cleo Johnson (850/487-1183) and Shunti Taylor (850/487-0579) 

Gary R. VanLandingham, OPPAGA Interim Director 
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