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Department of Education Improves Rules 
Guiding Resident Tuition Determinations 
at a glance 
The Department of Education, State Board of Education, 
and Board of Governors have taken most of the actions 
recommended by our 2003 report on student 
residency determinations.  The board approved 
several amendments to residency rules in the 
Flo ida Administrative Code, clarifying  r

                                                          

 minimum documentation standards, 
 definitions for student dependent and independent 

status, and 
 standards concerning the reclassification of 

students from non-resident to resident status. 

The department intends to modify the Postsecondary 
Residency Guidelines to reflect these changes in 
residency rules.  However, the department decided not 
to require periodic internal reviews to identify errors that 
lead to costly misclassifications.  

The 2005 Legislature passed a bill that would further 
tighten the rules for reclassifying non-resident students 
as residents; however, the Governor vetoed the bill due 
to concerns about its potential effect on some students.  
If changes in the policies and procedures governing 
reclassification of student residency status prevented all 
out-of-state students from being reclassified as 
residents and the affected students stayed in Florida, 
higher education institutions would gain an estimated 
$56.5 million in additional revenue. However, since at 
least some residency reclassifications are warranted, 
such changes are likely to bring in less than that 
amount. 

Scope __________________  
In accordance with state law, this progress report 
informs the Legislature of actions taken in 
response to a 2003 OPPAGA report. 1, 2   

Background _____________  
As established by the Legislature, Florida’s tuition 
policy is intended to benefit students who are 
Florida residents or have significant legal or 
family ties to the state.  Florida residents pay low 
in-state tuition rates that cover a small portion of 
the cost of their education.  The remaining cost is 
subsidized by state appropriations.  In contrast, 
non-resident students must pay tuition that 
covers the full cost of their education.  As shown 
in Exhibit 1, in Fiscal Year 2004-05, resident 
undergraduate students taking 30 credit hours 
paid $1,777 for tuition at community colleges and 
$3,075 for tuition at universities, while non-
resident undergraduates paid $6,566 and $15,490, 
respectively.   

Student tuition and fees contribute significant 
resources to institutions’ funding.  The 
Community College System’s 2004-05 funding 
totaled over $1.4 billion, with 33% ($460 million) 
coming from student tuition and fees.  The State 
University System’s 2004-05 funding totaled 

 

s

1 Section 11.51(6), F.S. 
2 Non-Re idents Qualify Too Easily for Much Lower Resident Tuition 

Rates, OPPAGA Special Review, Report No. 03-29, March 2003. 

http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/reports/pdf/0329rpt.pdf
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/reports/pdf/0329rpt.pdf
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/reports/educ/r03-29s.html
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$6.4 billion, with 12% ($755,606,909) paid from 
student tuition and fees.   

Exhibit 1 
Non-Residents Pay Higher Annual Tuition at  
Florida Postsecondary Institutions
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Source:  Department of Education 2004-05 information, based on 
undergraduate students taking 30 credit hours during the year. 

Prior Findings __________  
Our 2003 review found major weaknesses in  
the systems used by Florida’s universities and 
community colleges to determine students’ 
residency status.  This occurred in part because the 
criteria provided in law, rules, and Postsecondary 
Residency Guidelines were not adequate to provide 
higher education institutions clear guidance on  

 how to determine and reclassify students’ 
residency;  

 how to determine students’ dependency 
status; and  

 which documents to use to determine 
residency and dependency.   

In addition, higher education institutions were 
not conducting internal reviews to assess the 
accuracy of residency decisions.   

As a result, Florida public postsecondary 
institutions were using inconsistent and 
sometimes inaccurate methods of determining 
student residency.  For example, Florida laws and 
rules governing student residency determinations 
indicated that non-resident students generally 
should not be reclassified.  Nevertheless, 28% of 
the students in community colleges and 25% of 
the students in universities who were originally 

classified as non-residents in 1998-99 were 
reclassified as residents by the end of 2000-01, 
resulting in an estimated loss of $28.2 million in 
tuition revenue.   

Many of these reclassification decisions were 
based on differing interpretations of the 12-month 
residency requirement for students or their 
parents.  Many schools reclassified students as 
residents when they had been in the state for 12 
months, even though the students came to the 
state to go to school or were dependent on 
parents who lived out of state.  

To improve the consistency and accuracy of student 
residency determinations, we recommended that 
the Legislature consider the options presented 
below. 

 Amend the law to require students or their 
parents to maintain legal residences in the state 
at least 12 months prior to their initial enrollment 
in a Florida public postsecondary institution. 

 Amend the law to permit individuals to be 
reclassified as residents if they or their parents 
maintain legal residences in the state for a 12-
month period during which they are not 
enrolled in a public postsecondary institution. 

 Amend the law to permit individuals to be 
reclassified as residents if they or their parents 
have established legal residences in Florida for 
a 12-month period of time.   

In addition, we recommended that the Legislature 
require students under the age of 25 to provide 
copies of the parent’s tax returns and records of 
their employment and income before classifying 
those students as independent.   

We recommended that the Department and State 
Board of Education take the actions outlined 
below. 

 Establish minimum documentation standards 
for residency applications. 

 Modify the Postsecondary Residency Guidelines 
to clarify the minimum documentation 
requirement for Florida residents and for students 
who did not graduate from Florida high schools 
who want to be classified as Florida residents. 

 Modify the standard residency form to include 
questions about filed taxes or earned wages for 
students seeking to be classified as Florida 
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residents who claim they are not dependent on 
a parent who lives in another state. 

 Develop standards to determine when students 
are earning enough to be considered 
independent. 

 Require institutions to establish internal reviews 
of residency classification decisions. 

 Compile results from institutions’ internal 
reviews of residency determinations to identify 
any problems areas and best practices.  

Current Status ___________  

Most of our recommendations have been 
implemented.  The State Board of Education 
adopted revisions in Rule 6A-10.044, Florida 
Administrative Code, to clarify residency criteria 
and encourage consistency in determinations 
across institutions.  The Board of Governors 
passed a resolution adopting the same rule 
changes for the university system.  The 
Department of Education Residency Committee 
will incorporate these changes in the residency 
guidelines.  Institutions are expected to 
implement these changes for the summer or fall 
semesters in 2005. 

Board changes require students to better 
document their residency reclassification 
requests; reclassifications cost universities and 
community colleges an estimated $56.5 million in 
lost out-of-state tuition.  The State Board of 
Education and Board of Governors adopted rule 
changes to provide additional guidance in 
reclassifying students from non-resident to 
resident status.  In particular, the rule now states 
that a student wishing to be reclassified must 
provide documentation which substantiates that 
he or she or, if a dependent, the student’s parent, 
or guardian, is establishing Florida as a permanent 
domicile and not as a mere temporary residence 
incident to enrollment in higher education.  

The rule specifies a 12-month period of legal 
residence in the state prior to the first day of 
classes for the term for which residency is sought, 
one of the options suggested in our report.  The 
2005 Legislature passed a more stringent option, 
which would have required students to not attend 
school full-time during the 12-month period 
during which they or their parents are  
 

establishing residency.  However, the Governor 
vetoed the bill due to concerns about its effect on 
some students.   

If changes in the policies and procedures 
governing reclassification of student residency 
status prevented all out-of-state students from 
being reclassified as residents and the affected 
students stayed in Florida, higher education 
institutions would gain an estimated $56.5 million 
in additional revenue (see Exhibit 2).  However, 
since at least some residency reclassifications are 
warranted, such changes are likely to bring in less 
than that amount. 

Exhibit 2 
The Reclassification of Students Results in  
an Annual Projected Loss of $56.5 Million  
Tuition Revenue to Institutions 1

 
University 
System 

Community 
College 
System 

First time in college $   16,708,240  $  5,480,555  
First time in graduate school 20,866,920  n/a 
Transfer students 5,628,764.05  8,307,622 
Adjustment factor in enrollment 
between 2001-02 and 2003-04 2 1.1% No change 
Adjusted Total 2 $  42,728,681  $13,788,177  
Grand Total $56,516,858 

1 Our estimate is based on the number of nonresident students enrolled 
in academic year 2003-04.  To this number we applied the reclassification 
rates from a 1998-99 cohort and the most recent published retention rates 
for the university system.  For the community college system, we used 
retention rates derived from a previous OPPAGA analysis.  Our estimate 
includes undergraduate and graduate students, excluding students who 
received tuition waivers. 
2 Overall non-resident enrollment in the university system decreased 
by 1.1% between 2001 and 2003-04 while overall community college 
enrollment remained stable. 

Source:  OPPAGA analysis of data from Department of Education’s 
Divisions of Community Colleges and Colleges and Universities.  

The estimate of lost revenue from non-resident 
tuition has nearly doubled from our previous 
estimate (see page 2).  This is due to the increase 
in the number of non-resident student groups 
described in Exhibit 2 as well as in tuition cost 
from 2000-01 to 2003-04.  In particular, the cost for 
non-resident tuition increased by approximately 
48% for first-time in college students at public 
universities and by approximately 16% for 
students in the community college system.  The 
number of first-time-in-graduate-school students 
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increased by over 112% while transfer students to 
community colleges increased by over 60%. 

Amended rules now provide standard definitions 
and documentation requirements for determining 
student residency status.  The amended rule 
defines the circumstances under which students 
are considered dependent or independent 
persons and the documentation required to 
substantiate their status.  The rule defines 
dependent persons as those whose parents or 
guardians provide 50% or more of their support 
and independent persons as those who provide 
more than 50% of their own support.  To aid 
residency staff in the determination of dependent 
status, the amended rule also requires students to 
submit copies of their own or their parents’ most 
recent tax returns or other documentation.  
The amended rule also clarified the criteria for 
students requesting “all Florida” residency status.  
Students with “all Florida” residency status are 
immediately deemed to be residents for tuition 
purposes.  To obtain “all Florida” residency status 
as independent persons, students must document 
that they   
 are United States citizens;  
 are 24 years old or older; 
 have a permanent address in Florida;  
 graduated from  a Florida high school; and 
 attended only Florida institutions of higher 

education.  

To obtain “all Florida” residency status as 
dependent persons, students must document that 
they  
 are eligible to be claimed by their parents or 

guardians as a dependent under the federal 
income tax code;  

 are United States citizens;  
 are under 24 years of age;  
 have parents or guardians with a permanent 

legal address in Florida.  

The department did not address the issue of 
internal reviews to monitor residency decisions.  
The department decided not to follow our 
recommendation to implement periodic internal 
reviews of residency decisions.  Instead, the 
Residency Committee is planning to sponsor a 
number of outreach and training efforts to 
improve residency policies and practices. 

The department based its decision on several 
factors.  It stated that the law related to residency 
determination for tuition purposes (Ch. 1009.21, 
Florida Statutes) did not assign authority to the 
department to specifically address this provision.  
Second, community colleges and universities are 
subject to state audit provisions.  In addition, 
accreditation standards recognize the need for 
separate institutional audits.   

However, in practice, state audits do not focus on 
residency decisions, as this would detract from 
their wide scope of budget evaluations.  Similarly, 
accreditation standards for internal audits mainly 
focus on ensuring the adequacy of the 
institutions’ financial resources and do not 
explicitly address residency decisions.  Our review 
found that, while some institutions validate 
residency determinations through internal audits 
and random sampling techniques, most of the 
institutions OPPAGA interviewed did not engage 
in this practice.  Given the high error rates we 
found in our review, we continue to believe that 
more thorough reviews of residency decisions are 
warranted. 

OPPAGA supports the Florida Legislature by providing evaluative research and objective analyses to promote government accountability and the 
efficient and effective use of public resources.  This project was conducted in accordance with applicable evaluation standards.  Copies of this report in 
print or alternate accessible format may be obtained by telephone (850/488-0021 or 800/531-2477), by FAX (850/487-3804), in person, or by mail 
(OPPAGA Report Production, Claude Pepper Building, Room 312, 111 W. Madison St., Tallahassee, FL  32399-1475).  Cover photo by Mark Foley. 
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