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Some States Allow School Districts to Charge Parents 
for School Bus Transportation or to Advertise in or on 
School Buses to Raise Additional Revenue 

at a glance 
Some states allow school districts to raise 
additional revenues to supplement the 
funds they receive from traditional state 
and local student transportation sources.  
For example, 12 states allow and 1 state 
mandates districts to charge parents fees 
to transport their children to and from 
school.  In addition, 13 states allow school 
districts to advertise on the inside and/or 
outside of school buses.  In general, states 
give school districts considerable decision-
making authority to determine how to 
implement such policies. 

Background __________  
Florida law provides school district 
superintendents the authority and 
responsibility for determining which 
students within the district receive 
transportation to school.1

                                                           
1 Section 1006.21(1), F.S. 

  The cost of this 
transportation is paid for by both the state 
and the school district.  In Fiscal Year  
2009-10 (the latest year for which 
information is available), Florida school 
districts transported 1,022,154 (39%) of the 
2,627,250 students enrolled at a cost of 
$954,136,204 ($931 per transported student).  

The 2009-10 dedicated state student 
transportation appropriation of $428,931,491 
paid approximately 45% of these costs, with 
the remainder coming from local funding 
sources. 

Although school district superintendents  
have the authority and responsibility for 
determining which of their students  
receive transportation to school, Florida 
Administrative Code restricts state student 
transportation funds to students who live at 
least two miles from their assigned schools.2

Increasingly, states are examining ways to 
supplement traditional sources of revenue for 
student transportation.  This report provides 
information about other states’ policies 
regarding (1) fee-based transportation and  
(2) school bus advertising.  To obtain this 
information, we conducted surveys and 
interviews of education officials in all 50 
states. 

  
Traditionally, most Florida public K-12 
students have had the option of being 
transported to their assigned school by the 
local school district at no cost to the student. 

                                                           
2 Florida law allows school districts to use dedicated state 

student transportation funds to transport Exceptional 
Student Education (ESE) students who require specialized 
transportation, elementary school students living less than 
two miles from their school who would face hazardous 
walking conditions, students who require transportation 
from one school center to another to participate in an 
instructional program, and Teenage Parents (TAPs) and 
their children.  See ss. 1006.21(3) and 1006.23(2), F.S., and 
Rule 6A-3.001, F.A.C. 
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Findings _____________  

States are divided in their policies related 
to fee-based school bus transportation 
While some states allow school districts to 
charge fees for school bus transportation, 
others prohibit the practice or have not 
established fee-based school transportation 
policies.  States that permit fee-based school 
transportation usually give school districts 
the authority to decide whether to 
implement such a policy and to determine 
the amount charged.  School districts we 
contacted varied regarding which students 
must pay fees, the fee amount, and  

the collection method.  Although school  
districts asserted that fee-based school 
transportation initiatives are necessary to 
avoid cuts in core education programs and 
services, some education officials raised 
access and legal concerns regarding such 
policies. 
State policies vary on charging fees for 
school bus transportation.  Currently, 12 
states allow and 1 state mandates charging 
fees for regular (i.e., home to school/school 
to home) school bus transportation.  
Nineteen states prohibit such fees.  The 
remaining 18 states have not established 
state-level policies regarding charging fees 
for student transportation.  (See Exhibit 1.) 

Exhibit 1  
Thirteen States Allow Parents to Be Charged to Transport Their Children to and from School 

 
Note:  State officials in Virginia responded that they were not sure of the state’s policy regarding charging parents for student 
transportation; therefore, it is shown on the map as having no policy. 

Source: OPPAGA surveys and interviews of student transportation officials in other states (August through October 2011). 
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States that permit fee-based school bus 
transportation usually give school districts 
the authority to decide whether to 
implement such a policy and to determine 
the amount to charge families.  Twelve of 
the 13 states with fee-based school bus 
transportation initiatives allow, but do not 
require, school districts to charge such fees.  
The remaining state, Hawaii, has established 
a uniform amount that it requires parents to 
pay for student transportation.3  In general, 
the other states that permit fee-based school 
bus transportation allow local school 
districts to determine the amount to charge 
families.  However, three states—California, 
Iowa, and New Jersey—have established a 
maximum amount that school districts can 
charge parents.4

School districts cite similar reasons for 
implementing fee-based school bus 
transportation, but their specific policies 
differ.  Few state-level school transportation 
officials surveyed in states that allow student 
transportation fees knew how many of their 
districts charge fees for school bus 
transportation.  Most of these officials 
reported that their states do not collect such 
information.  However, Colorado reported 
that only 3 of its 178 school districts currently 
charge fees for student transportation.   
In addition, school transportation officials in 
California, Iowa, Kansas, and Texas provided 
us with examples of school districts in their 
states that have implemented fee-based 
school transportation initiatives. 

 

We interviewed staff in eight school districts 
that charge parents for regular 
transportation.5

                                                           
3 The state of Hawaii comprises one school district. 

  Five of these districts 

4 School districts in California can charge up to $8.50 daily 
round-trip cost.  In Iowa, school districts can charge no 
more than the district’s “cost per pupil transported” from 
the prior year.  In New Jersey, school districts are permitted 
to charge all or part of the cost, but no more. 

5 We interviewed officials in the Paso Robles School District 
(Santa Barbara, California area), the Poway School District 
(San Diego, California area), the Douglas School District 
(Denver, Colorado area), Hawaii, the Franklin Township 

reported that they implemented fee-based 
school bus transportation in the past five 
years to address budget deficits.  One 
district expected to generate approximately 
$2.2 million in transportation fees during 
the 2011-12 school year−enough to cover 
the entire cost of providing transportation 
to approximately 4,000 students.  However, 
most district officials reported that their fee-
based initiatives were too new to estimate 
how much additional revenue they would 
generate.  In general, the eight districts 
differed regarding which students must pay 
fees, the fee amount, and the methods they 
use to collect the fees. 

For instance, the school districts’ policies 
often make exceptions for disabled and 
economically disadvantaged students.  Six 
of the eight districts we contacted charge 
fees for transportation outside of the school 
walk zone.  The remaining two school 
districts only charge fees to families of 
children who live within school walk zones.  
All six of the school districts that charge fees 
for transportation outside of the walk zone 
exempt students with disabilities from 
paying such fees.6  In addition, four of these 
school districts also exempt students from 
economically disadvantaged families from 
paying fees, and one charges these families 
a reduced fee for school bus transportation.7

School districts also vary greatly in the fees 
they charge for school bus transportation.  

 

                                                                                       
School District (Indianapolis, Indiana area), the West Des 
Moines Community School District (Des Moines, Iowa 
area), the Blue Valley School District (Kansas City, Kansas 
area), and the Keller School District (Ft. Worth, Texas area). 

6 Federal regulations (34 CFR Subpart B, Section 300.107) 
require states receiving Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA) funds to provide transportation 
without cost to students with disabilities who need such 
transportation to attend school. 

7 Economically disadvantaged is determined by students’ 
participation in the federal free/reduced price lunch 
program.  Two districts exempt students who receive free 
or reduced price lunches, two districts exempt students 
who receive free lunches, and one district charges a 
reduced fee for students who receive free or reduced-price 
lunches. 
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Fees in the districts we contacted range 
from $180 to $575 per student per school 
year.  Some districts, such as Keller (Texas) 
and Franklin Township (Indiana), charge a 
reduced amount for families with multiple 
children.  The eight school districts used a 
variety of methods to arrive at their fee 
structures, including parent surveys, cost 
comparisons with public transportation, and 
break-even analyses. 

In general, the school districts we spoke to 
require advance payment of at least a 
portion of the transportation fees, but they  
use different methods to collect these fees.  
Collection methods range from bills  
mailed or e-mailed to families on a 
monthly/quarterly/semester basis to on-line 
options, such as PayPal and PaySchools 
services, also used in lunch programs.  Two 
school districts rely on third-party billing or 
electronic bills derived from card readers 
that report when and where a child boards 
the bus. 

The districts reported that they experienced 
some negative consequences as a  
result of implementing their fee-based 
school transportation programs.  These 
consequences included a decline in 
ridership and an increase in parent 
complaints about the new policy.  In 
addition, four of the districts experienced a 
substantial increase in traffic congestion 
around schools as a result of a large number 
of parents who chose to transport their 
children to and from school rather than pay 
the new fee.  However, none of the eight 
school districts experienced billing or 
collection problems associated with their 
fee-based student transportation programs. 

Some education officials raised access and 
legal concerns regarding fee-based school 
transportation initiatives.  Some state and 
district officials we spoke to raised concerns 
that requiring parents to pay fees to 
transport children to and from school 
creates barriers to accessing K-12 public 

education, especially for students in lower 
income families.  In addition, five states 
reported the practice was prohibited by 
their states’ constitution or concluded they 
could not charge for school transportation 
based on legal opinions.   

Most states either limit or prohibit 
advertising in or on school buses 
Currently, 13 states allow school districts to 
advertise on the inside and/or the outside of 
school buses.  However, most states have 
policies that limit the type of advertising 
allowed.  Florida is 1 of 5 states that allow 
advertising on the inside of buses and one 
of 34 states that prohibit it on the outside of 
school buses. 

Most states have policies regarding the 
type of advertising school districts can 
place inside and outside of school buses.  
Over the past few years, a number of states 
have considered allowing school districts to 
place advertisements on the inside and/or 
the outside of school buses as an additional 
source of revenue.  These initiatives are 
more attractive during tough budget times, 
but often face opposition from local 
communities and state and national student 
transportation organizations.  Forty states 
have policies that limit the type of school 
bus advertising allowed.  Eighteen of these 
states prohibit any advertising on the inside 
or outside of school buses.  Two states, 
Massachusetts and Rhode Island, explicitly 
allow school districts to advertise both on 
the inside and on the outside of school 
buses. 

Five states allow advertising on the inside of 
buses.  Five states (Florida, Massachusetts, 
Michigan, Minnesota, and Rhode Island) 
permit advertising on the inside of school 
buses.  Almost half (24) of all states prohibit 
such advertising, usually by administrative 
rule or agency policy, and 21 states have not 
established state-level policies in this area.  
(See Exhibit 2.) 
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Exhibit 2 
Twenty-Four States Prohibit Advertising on the Inside of School Buses 

 
Note: State officials in California responded that they were not sure of the state’s policy regarding advertising on the inside of school 
buses; therefore, it is shown on the map as having no policy.  In Rhode Island, pursuant to state law this matter is left to school 
districts on the basis of promulgating policy. 
 

Source: OPPAGA surveys and interviews of student transportation officials in other states (August through October 2011). 

Although allowed, the Florida Association 
for Pupil Transportation was not aware of 
any Florida school districts that currently 
advertise on the inside of school buses.  A 
primary concern regarding advertising 
inside school buses is the appropriateness of 
advertising to children who are a “captive 
audience.”  Some school district officials in 
Florida and other states reported that they 
had difficulty arriving at a consensus on 
what types of ads would be suitable for 
students and who would make such 
decisions.  In addition, the officials raised 
concerns that ads would distract students 

from paying attention to bus driver 
instructions and that revenue from internal 
advertising could be offset by increased 
costs to maintain the ads due to student 
vandalism. 

Most states do not allow advertisements on 
the outside of school buses.  Although 10 
states allow advertising on the outside of 
school buses, most states (34), including 
Florida, prohibit the practice.  Six states 
have not established policies related to 
advertising on the outside of school buses.  
(See Exhibit 3.) 

State Policies on Advertising on the Inside of School Buses

Allows Advertising  on the Inside of School Buses (5)

Prohibits Advertising on the Inside of School Buses (24)

Has No Policies on Advertising on the Inside of School Buses (21)  
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Exhibit 3 
Thirty-Four States Prohibit Advertising on the Outside of School Buses 

 
Note: In Rhode Island, pursuant to state law this matter is left to school districts on the basis of promulgating policy. 
Source: OPPAGA surveys and interviews of student transportation officials in other states (August through October 2011).   

Although advertising on the outside of 
school buses gives school districts the ability 
to raise funds to supplement their 
transportation budgets, some education 
officials we spoke to raised safety and legal 
concerns regarding the practice.  According 
to a National Association of State Directors 
of Pupil Transportation Services’ position 
paper, advertising on the outside of school 
buses is intended to catch the attention of 
passing motorists, and as a result, increases 
the risk that passing motorists will focus 
their attention on the ads and not notice 
that the school bus has stopped or that 

students are exiting the bus.  The association 
also points out that it may be difficult to 
control the types of advertising on school 
buses, and the cost for a state or local school 
district to defend its advertising policies in 
court might exceed the revenue obtained 
from the advertising itself.  The association 
cites these safety and legal concerns as the 
primary reasons it does not endorse 
advertising on the exterior of buses.  The 
Florida Association for Pupil Transportation 
cites the same rationale for its opposition to 
this type of advertising. 

State Policies on Advertising on the Outside of School Buses

Allows Advertising on the Outside of School Buses (10)

Prohibits Advertising on the Outside of School Buses (34)

Has No Policies on the Outside of School Buses (6)  
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Office of Program Policy Analysis  
and Government Accountability 

 
 
OPPAGA provides performance and accountability information about Florida 
government in several ways.   

 Reports deliver program evaluation and policy analysis to assist the Legislature in 
overseeing government operations, developing policy choices, and making Florida 
government better, faster, and cheaper. 

 PolicyCasts, short narrated slide presentations, provide bottom-line briefings of 
findings and recommendations for select reports. 

 Government Program Summaries (GPS), an online encyclopedia, 
www.oppaga.state.fl.us/government, provides descriptive, evaluative, and 
performance information on more than 200 Florida state government programs. 

 The Florida Monitor Weekly, an electronic newsletter, delivers brief announcements 
of research reports, conferences, and other resources of interest for Florida's policy 
research and program evaluation community.  

 Visit OPPAGA’s website at www.oppaga.state.fl.us  

 
 

OPPAGA supports the Florida Legislature by providing data, evaluative research, and objective analyses that assist legislative 
budget and policy deliberations.  This project was conducted in accordance with applicable evaluation standards.  Copies of this 
report in print or alternate accessible format may be obtained by telephone (850/488-0021), by FAX (850/487-3804), in person, or by 
mail (OPPAGA Report Production, Claude Pepper Building, Room 312, 111 W. Madison St., Tallahassee, FL  32399-1475).  Cover 
photo by Mark Foley. 
 

OPPAGA website:  www.oppaga.state.fl.us 

Project supervised by David D. Summers (850/487-9257) 
Project conducted by Rich Woerner and Rose Cook 

Tim Elwell (850/487-9288), Staff Director, Education Policy Area 
R. Philip Twogood, Coordinator 
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