Staff supports the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission. Established under s. 943.11, Florida Statutes, the commission is an independent policy making body that ensures that Florida's criminal justice officers are ethical, qualified, and well-trained. The commission is responsible for creating entry-level curricula and certification testing for criminal justice officers in Florida, establishing minimum standards for employment and certification, and revoking the certification of officers who fail to maintain these minimum standards of conduct. In Fiscal Year 2021-22, 6,331 prospective officers passed the basic professional certification examination compared to 7,655 prospective officers in the previous year. The passage rate (79%) in Fiscal Year 2021-22 was lower than the 81.6% passage rate in Fiscal Year 2020-21. The commission reported taking disciplinary action against 443 officers in Fiscal Year 2021-22, compared to 637 officers in Fiscal Year 2020-21.
|PROGRAM: CRIMINAL JUSTICE PROFESSIONALISM
|LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS COMPLIANCE
|LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING AND CERTIFICATION SERVICES
Confidentiality of Autopsy Reports of Minors. Chapter 2023-44, Laws of Florida, establishes the confidentiality of autopsy reports of minors killed by an act of domestic violence, expanded from photographs, videos, or audio recordings of an autopsy. Any custodian of these reports who willfully and knowingly violates the law by releasing them may be charged with a third degree felony.
Law Enforcement Recruitment, Training, and Pay Raise. Chapter 2022-23, Laws of Florida, provides law enforcement agencies with additional tools to support the recruitment and retention of qualified officers by providing financial incentives, enhanced training, educational opportunities, and recognition. The law creates the Florida Law Enforcement Academy Scholarship Program, which covers tuition, fees, and eligible education expenses for trainees enrolled in law enforcement officer basic recruit training program for up to $1,000. The law increases the base salary for each county sheriff by $5,000. Further, the Florida Law Enforcement Recruitment Bonus Program provides a one-time bonus payment to newly employed law enforcement officers in Florida for up to $5,000. The 2022 General Appropriations Act increases the minimum salary of state law enforcement officers and troopers to $50,000 or additional 5%, whichever is greater. Law enforcement officers are required to receive training in health and wellness principles as part of their initial cortication training and continued employment training.
Law Enforcement and Correctional Officer Practices. The 2021 Florida Legislature passed Ch. 2021-241, Laws of Florida, which made several changes to requirements for the operations and standards of law enforcement and correctional agencies and training for law enforcement officers, correctional officers, and correctional probation officers. Specifically, the law requires that applicants for law enforcement or correctional employment must disclose by affidavit if they are the subject of any pending investigation by a local, state, or federal agency or entity for criminal, civil, or administrative wrongdoing and whether the applicant separated or resigned from previous criminal justice employment while under investigation. In regards to training, the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission must establish standards for the instruction of officers in the subject of use of force and each employing agency must develop policies in the subject of use of force. This must include the proportional use of force and alternatives to use of force, including de-escalation techniques. Beginning July 1, 2023, these standards must be included in every basic skills course required in order for a law enforcement officer, correctional officer, or correctional probation officer to obtain the officer’s initial certification. The law also requires agencies to develop and maintain policies regarding use of force investigations conducted when a law enforcement officer’s use of force results in the death of any person or the intentional discharge of a firearm that results in injury or death to any person. Law enforcement agencies must also report quarterly to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement data regarding use of force by the law enforcement officers employed by the agency that results in serious bodily injury, death, or discharge of a firearm at a person.
Use of Electronic Databases. The 2021 Florida Legislature passed Ch. 2021-129, Laws of Florida, which increases the maximum fine imposed, not to exceed $2,000, when a person uses or releases information contained in the Driver and Vehicle Information Database for a purpose not specifically authorized by law. Further, the law requires that the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission provide training on the authorized access to and use of personal identification information contained in electronic databases used by law enforcement in an official capacity. This training must be part of the curriculum required for initial law enforcement certification as part of the 40 hours of required instruction for continued employment.
Publications, Criminal Justice Professionalism Services
Criminal Justice Agency Profile Survey Results, Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Drug Abuse Resistance Education, 2022 Annual Report, Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Professional Standards Unit 2022 Annual Report, Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Medical Examiners Commission 2021 Annual Report, Florida Department of Law Enforcement
The Auditor General reports on department operations are available on its website
Criminal Justice Professionalism Program, 850-410-8600