What is the purpose of the division?
The purpose of the Division of Hotels and Restaurants is to protect the health and safety of the public by providing the industry with quality inspections and fair regulation. The division licenses, inspects, and regulates public food service and lodging establishments in Florida. The division also licenses and regulates elevators, escalators, and other vertical conveyance devices.
How does the division protect the public interest?
To help ensure public safety, the division licenses public lodging, food service establishments, and elevators. The division conducts sanitation and safety inspections for food and lodging, and monitors statewide elevator inspection activities performed by private inspectors and those contracted by local governments.
How can a citizen obtain information about establishments regulated by the division?
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation established an electronic licensing system that allows access to license information on its licensing portal. The department also provides access to disciplinary activity reports on public food service establishments and restaurants on its website. Additionally, detailed lists of license and inspection data may be accessed through the department's Instant Public Records page. The Division of Hotel and Restaurants organizes their inspection and licensing data for lodging and restaurants by the seven licensing and inspection districts.
How many inspections is the division performing?
During Fiscal Year 2021-22, the division performed 171,792 inspections of 124,004 food service and public lodging establishments.
How quickly does the division process hotel and restaurant licenses and elevator operating certificates?
In Fiscal Year 2021-22, the division processed 99% of hotel licenses and restaurant licenses within 90 days, exceeding the legislative standard for both categories. The division also processed 99% of elevator certificates of operation within 90 days, also exceeding the legislative standard.
How are these activities funded?
Electronic Communications. The 2023 Legislature enacted Ch. 2023-211, Florida Statutes, which updates communication and notifications to include electronic options. The law requires licensees to submit certain documents, fees, and communications online. The law allows notices to be served to the operator of a licensed establishment via email, in addition to in-person service and by mail. Additionally, the law allows the guest registry at a transient public lodging establishment to be kept online, and guests are no longer required to sign the registry.
Protection of Children. The 2023 Legislature enacted Ch. 2023-94, Florida Statutes, which prohibits a person from knowingly admitting a child to an adult live performance. The division can fine, suspend, or revoke the license of a public lodging or public food service establishment if it admits a child to an adult live performance. The division may issue a $5,000 fine for an establishment's first violation and issue a $10,000 fine for a second or subsequent violation.
Temporary Commercial Kitchens. The 2023 Legislature enacted Ch. 2023-48, Florida Statutes, which regulates temporary commercial kitchens in the same way as mobile food delivery vehicles (MFDVs) or food trucks. The law preempts the regulation of licenses, registrations, permits and fees for temporary commercial kitchens to the state. The law requires operators of public food service establishments who provide services to temporary commercial kitchens maintain a registry that lists each temporary commercial kitchen that receives the commissary services. Operators of temporary commercial kitchens are required to display their public food service establishment license number. The law allows a licensed permanent food service establishment to operate a temporary commercial kitchen on site if the establishment or land is rendered uninhabitable due to a natural disaster, they must notify DBPR every 90 days.
Where can I find related OPPAGA reports?
A complete list of related OPPAGA reports is available on our website
Where can I get more information?
What are the applicable statutes?
Chapters 399 and 509 Florida Statutes
Whom do I contact for help?
Division of Hotels and Restaurants, 850-487-1395