Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability
Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability

Department of Business and Professional Regulation

Condominiums, Timeshares, and Mobile Homes Regulation

What is the purpose of the division?

The purpose of the Division of Florida Condominiums, Timeshares, and Mobile Homes is to provide oversight of the types of residential communities (condominiums, cooperatives, timeshares, and mobile home parks) that are regulated by the division. The division also regulates yacht and ship brokers.

What are the division's responsibilities?

The division has responsibilities in five areas.
  • Condominiums and Cooperatives provides protection for the condominium and the cooperative form of real property ownership by establishing procedures for the creation, sale, and operation of condominiums and cooperatives. The division's activities in this area include enforcing and ensuring compliance with state law and rules and educating board members and unit owners. The division also arbitrates and mediates certain disputes between associations and unit owners.
  • Homeowners' Associations has authority to arbitrate election and recall disputes, but does not have authority to investigate complaints under Ch. 720, Florida Statutes.
  • Mobile Homes has the power and duty to enforce and ensure compliance with the provisions of Ch. 723, Florida Statutes, relating to the rental, development, and sale of mobile home parks. The division does this by investigating complaints and instituting corrective action when it finds violations. The division also assigns mobile home mediators after receipt of a petition for mediation.
  • Timeshares regulates, fosters compliance with timeshare laws and rules, approves new timeshare resorts, and monitors current operations for compliance and performance. The division's activities include ensuring that the public offering statements meet legal requirements and that advertising fairly portrays the offer. These are accomplished by investigating allegations to determine if violations have occurred or could occur and initiating enforcement proceedings where reasonable cause exists.
  • Yacht and Ship protects consumers who purchase yachts and ships by licensing and regulating ship brokers and salespersons and investigating consumer complaints.

How long does it take to resolve consumer complaints?

In Fiscal Year 2021-22, the division took an average of 43 days to resolve consumer complaint investigations, which is less than the legislatively approved standard of 90 days.

How are these activities funded?

The division is funded from the fees, fines, and penalties collected by the division or costs awarded to the division by a court.
Fiscal Year: 2023-24
Fund Dollars Positions


Condominium and Cooperative AssociationsThe 2023 Legislature enacted Ch. 2023-203Laws of Floridawhich revises the milestone inspection requirements for condominium and cooperative buildings that are three or more stories in height to 

  • provide that the milestone inspection requirements also apply to buildings that are subject to the condominium or cooperative forms of ownership, such as mixed-use buildings;
  • clarify that all owners of a mixed-use building in which portions of the building are subject to the condominium or cooperative form of ownership are responsible for ensuring compliance and must share the costs of the inspection;
  • delete the 25-year milestone inspection requirements for buildings that are within three miles of the coastline; but authorize the local enforcement agencies that are responsible with enforcing the milestone inspection requirements the option to set a 25-year inspection requirement if justified by local environmental conditions, including proximity to seawater;
  • authorize the local enforcement agency to extend the inspection deadline for a building upon a petition showing good cause that the owner or owners of the building have entered into a contract with an architect or engineer to perform the milestone inspection services and the milestone inspection cannot reasonably be completed before the deadline;
  • provide that the inspection services may be provided by a team of design professionals with an architect or engineer acting as a registered design professional in responsible charge; and
  • clarify that an association must distribute a copy of the summary of the inspection reports to unit owners within 30 days of its receipt. 

Among other provisions, the law also requires the Florida Building Commission within the Department of Business and Professional Regulation to establish by rule a building safety program to implement the milestone inspection requirements.

Where can I find related OPPAGA reports?

A complete list of related OPPAGA reports is available on our website.

Where can I get more information?

Websites of Interest
Community Associations Network

Performance Information

Performance measures and standards for the department may be found in its Long Range Program Plan.

What are the applicable statutes?

Chapters 326, 718, 719, 720, 721, and 723, Florida Statutes

Whom do I contact for help?

Customer Contact Center, 850-488-1122