Florida law requires most employers to provide workers' compensation coverage for their employees. Specific employer coverage requirement are based on the type of industry, number of employees, and the organization of the entity. The division's website clarifies different coverage requirements by industry.
The division's Bureau of Employee Assistance and Ombudsman Office (EAO) is responsible for educating and disseminating information to employees and employers, and is a resource for all employees participating in the workers' compensation system. The bureau
The Bureau of Employee Assistance and Ombudsman Office (EAO) helps prevent and resolve disputes between injured workers, employers, and carriers. If the insurance carrier does not provide benefits
or denies a claim, the employee can contact the EAO. Employees can also file a Petition for Benefits with the Office of the Judges of Compensation Claims.
During Fiscal Year 2021-22, the Bureau of Compliance processed 97.05% of online exemption applications within five days of receipt, investigated 853 public referrals alleging non-compliance, and collected exemption fees totaling $4,906,550. The Bureau of Compliance's efforts resulted in 5,856 new employees being covered and the generation of $5,893,046 in insurance premiums. During the same year, the division's Injured Worker Helpline handled 32,826 calls. Of these calls, 510 were disputes,
100% of which were resolved.
In Fiscal Year 2021-22, overall workers' compensation claims costs remained steady, totaling $120.3 million. Workers' compensation medical costs increased $5.9 million, while indemnity costs decreased $6.1 million. These increases in claims costs were a direct result of COVID-19 claims. In Fiscal Year 2021-22, the division paid $7.3 million in medical costs and $2.2 million in indemnity costs, totaling $9.5 million for COVID-19 claims.
Maximum Reimbursement Allowances. The 2023 Legislature enacted Ch. 2023-144, Laws of Florida, which removes the authority of the Three-Member Panel to adopt maximum reimbursement allowances for individually licensed health care providers, work-hardening programs, pain programs, and durable medical equipment providers. The bill also requires the Department of Financial Services to annually post the maximum reimbursement allowance for physician and non-hospital reimbursements on its website by July 1 to become effective on January 1 of the following year.
|Review of Professional Employer Organizations and Workers' Compensation, Report 21-04, March 2021|
Workers' Compensation Fraud Joint Report, Florida Department of Financial Services, Division of Investigative and Forensic Services, Bureau of Workers' Compensation Fraud, and Division of Workers' Compensation, January 2023
Three-Member Panel Biennial Report, Three-Member Panel, January 2023
2022 Division of Workers' Compensation Results and Accomplishments Report, Florida Department of Financial Services, Division of Workers' Compensation
A complete list of the division's reports is available on its website
Websites of Interest
Division of Workers' Compensation, Reimbursement Manuals
U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Workers' Compensation Programs
Florida Self-Insurers Guaranty Association, Inc.
National Council on Compensation Insurance
Florida Workers' Compensation Joint Underwriting Association
Workers Compensation Research Institute
Division of Workers' Compensation, 1-800-742-2214 (exemption and compliance) or 1-800-342-1741 (claims)