Scope of Practice Expansion for Certain Practitioners. The 2020 Legislature enacted Ch. 2020-9, Laws of Florida, that expands scope of practice for advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs), certified nursing assistants (CNAs) and home health aides (HHAs). The law allows APRNs who meet certain criteria to practice primary care or midwifery without physician supervision and authorizes CNAs and HHAs to administer medications and assist with preventative skin care, and applying bandages and nebulizer treatments as delegated by a registered nurse.
Certificate of Need Exemption for Intermediate Care Facilities for the Developmentally Disabled. The 2020 Legislature enacted Ch. 2020-60, Laws of Florida, that establishes a new certificate of need exemption for intermediate care facilities for the developmentally disabled for use by clients exhibiting severe maladaptive behaviors and co-occurring psychiatric diagnoses that require increased levels of behavioral, medical, and therapeutic oversight.
Assisted Living Facility Regulatory Amendments. The 2020 Legislature enacted Ch. 2020-68, Laws of Florida, that makes several changes to assisted living facility (ALF) regulations. The law allows ALFs to admit or retain residents including residents that require the use of assistive devices, require 24-hour nursing care, receive hospice services, are bedridden for no more than seven days, or in the case of an ALF licensed to provide extended congregate care, are bedridden for no more than 14 days. The law also allows ALFs to use certain physical restraints such as full bed rails and geriatric chairs while authorizing AHCA to develop rules to address the technological advances in the provision of care, safety and security; and changing how staff communicate with residents regarding self-administration of medications. In addition, the law requires that AHCA conduct a full inspection to review key quality-of-care standards for facilities that have a history of Class I, Class II, or uncorrected Class III violations resulting from complaints referred by the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program and amends the Resident Bill of Rights to allow the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program to provide assistance to a resident who needs to be relocated due to closure of a facility.
Amended Facility and Provider Licensure Requirements. The 2020 Legislature enacted Ch. 2020-157, Laws of Florida, that changes the licensing and regulation over certain health care facilities and providers including