Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Licensing

For assistance, call 850-245-5665 or visit https://www.fdacs.gov/Divisions-Offices/Licensing

What is the purpose of the division?

The Division of Licensing administers Florida's concealed weapon licensing program and oversees Florida's private investigative, private security, and recovery services industries. The division's regulatory oversight of those services includes licensing, enforcing compliance standards, and ensuring public protection from unethical business practices and unlicensed activity.

How is the division organized?

There are four bureaus within the division.
  • Bureau of License Issuance receives and examines license applications to ensure compliance with state law and verify the applicants' eligibility prior to issuing a license or registration. The bureau contacts former employers and educational facilities and examines the applicant's criminal history. The bureau's nine regional offices offer walk-in service to individuals renewing any of the division's licenses, and appointment service to individuals applying for a new license.
  • Bureau of Regulation and Enforcement conducts compliance inspections, monitors information to ensure continued eligibility for licensure, reviews state law, and recommends disciplinary action based on investigations and inspections conducted by the Regulatory Investigations Section of the Office of Agricultural Law Enforcement.
  • Bureau of Support Services manages all information systems and management activities of the division. The responsibilities of the bureau's two sections include processing licensing applications and related documents in the electronic document management system, mailing licensing correspondence, and IT support.
  • Bureau of External Services and Quality Assurance manages all external relationships including the tax collector partnership, Private Investigative, Recovery and Security Council, and the public inquiry center. The bureau also manages records requests, executive correspondence and records management. The bureau's quality control unit oversees process management and audits application processing functions.

What are the licensing fees for carrying a weapon?

Fees vary for each of the licenses.  Currently, total fees for an initial concealed weapon license ranged from $0 for retired law enforcement officers and active judges to $300 for consular officers. Please refer to the division's fee schedule or contact one of the regional offices with questions.

How many licensees are registered with the division?

As of February 28, 2022, the division has issued 2,660,137 total licenses amongst 26 different types, including: 742 recovery agents, 6,951 private investigators, 123,749 security officers, and 2,492,331 concealed weapon or firearms. The division's website provides statistical reports on license issuance activities.

How many investigations did the division conduct last year?

From July 1, 2021, to March 18, 2022, the division performed 2,215 compliance investigations based on complaints or initiated by the department. The division took administrative action on 5,063 licenses, such as fines imposed, license suspension, or license revocation.

How are these activities funded?

Fiscal Year: 2022-23
Fund Salary Rate/ Position General Revenue Trust Funds
SALARY RATE
POSITIONS
SALARIES AND BENEFITS
FROM DIVISION OF LICENSING TRUST FUND
OTHER PERSONAL SERVICES
FROM DIVISION OF LICENSING TRUST FUND
EXPENSES
FROM DIVISION OF LICENSING TRUST FUND
OPERATING CAPITAL OUTLAY
FROM DIVISION OF LICENSING TRUST FUND
SPECIAL CATEGORIES
CONTRACTED SERVICES
FROM DIVISION OF LICENSING TRUST FUND
SPECIAL CATEGORIES
RISK MANAGEMENT INSURANCE
FROM DIVISION OF LICENSING TRUST FUND
SPECIAL CATEGORIES
TRANSFER TO DEPARTMENT OF MANAGEMENT SERVICES - HUMAN RESOURCES SERVICES PURCHASED PER STATEWIDE CONTRACT
FROM DIVISION OF LICENSING TRUST FUND
TOTAL
0
39,837,178

Updates

Online Training for Private Security Officers. The 2022 Florida Legislature enacted Chapter 2022-79, Laws of Florida, Online Training for Private Security Officers. The Act allows Class “D” unarmed Security Officers and Class “G” Statewide Firearm applicants to obtain the training required as a licensing qualification through either in person or online instruction. The online instruction must be provided through the secure website of a licensed school or training facility, or a Class “K” licensee that has a physical location in Florida.

Where can I find related OPPAGA reports?

A complete list of related OPPAGA reports is available on our website.

Where can I get more information?

Websites of Interest
Concealed Weapon License FAQ
Concealed Weapon License Reciprocity

 
Performance Information


Performance measures and standards for the department may be found in its Long Range Program Plan.

What are the applicable statutes?

Chapter 493, 776, and s. 790.06, Florida Statutes.

Whom do I contact for help?

Division of Licensing, 850-245-5665

Website