Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Mobile Home Inspections

For assistance, call 850-617-3003 or visit

What is the purpose of the activity?

The Bureau of Dealer Services monitors the quality of mobile/manufactured homes. Monitoring inspections help the department reduce the potential for over-the-road traffic mishaps and protect consumers from living in unsafe and improperly built dwellings.

What services does the department provide?

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) regulates mobile home inspections under the Bureau of Dealer Services within the Division of Motorist Services. The bureau monitors the quality of manufactured home units by ensuring manufacturers' compliance with construction standards established by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and provides additional consumer protection by training, testing and licensing individuals who set-up and install manufactured/mobile homes. The department is under contract with HUD to inspect manufactured/mobile homes as they are built in Florida manufacturing facilities to ensure compliance with HUD code.

What is the difference between a mobile home and modular home?

Both mobile homes (also known as manufactured homes) and modular homes are built in a factory and transported to the site of installation but differ significantly in the code/standard to which they are constructed.
  • Mobile homes are built according to U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development standards (HUD code). They are usually installed on temporary foundations. They are not considered real property and generally depreciate in value similar to an automobile.
  • Modular homes are designed, built, permitted and inspected to the Florida Building Code, and must be installed on permanent foundations that are designed and built specifically for that home by a contractor licensed by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. It is a violation of Florida law for a mobile home installer to install a modular home. Modular homes are considered real property and taxed and insured as a home.

How many manufactured home inspections does the department conduct?

During Fiscal Year 2019-20, the department conducted 9,715 in-factory manufactured home inspections.

How are these activities funded?

Mobile home inspections are performed by the Bureau of Dealer Services, which is funded as part of the Motorist Services budget entity.
Fiscal Year: 2022-23
Title Fund Dollars Positions


Mobile Home Registration Periods.  The 2022 Legislature enacted Ch. 2022-123, Laws of Florida, which revised statutes relating to mobile home registration periods. Among its provisions, the law provides that

  • if a mobile home is registered in the name of more than one person, the birth month of the person whose name appears first will be used to determine the registration period;
  • if a mobile home is not owned by a natural person, the registration period will be January 1 to December 31; and
  • beginning September 1, 2023, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall give customers the option to renew their mobile home registrations on their dates of birth in 2024 or 2025; customers whose dates of birth occur in the months January through June may choose to renew for 1 to 18 months, while customers whose dates of birth occur in July through December may choose to renew for 7 to 24 months.

Where can I find related OPPAGA reports?

A complete list of related OPPAGA reports is available on our website.

Where can I get more information?

Other Reports
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles - Selected Administrative Activities and Prior Audit Follow-Up - Operational Audit, Auditor General Report No. 2020-191, April 2020.

Websites of Interest

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Cabinet and Legislature Reports & Statistics
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Related Links
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Manufactured Housing Programs

Performance Information

Performance measures and standards for the department may be found in its Long Range Program Plan.

What are the applicable statutes?

Chapter 320, Florida Statutes.

Whom do I contact for help?

Bureau of Dealer Services, 850-617-3003